# **Senate**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety**

## Senate Bill 390

Relating to: creating family treatment court and juvenile treatment court grant programs in the Department of Children and Families.

By Senators Darling, Johnson, Olsen, Carpenter, Wirch, L. Taylor and Larson; cosponsored by Representatives Rodriguez, Goyke, Nygren, Gannon, Spiros, Petryk, Vorpagel, Ballweg, Tusler, Billings, Kolste, Duchow, C. Taylor, Crowley, Pope, Felzkowski, Krug, Mason, Horlacher, Ohnstad, Sargent, Spreitzer, Snyder, Riemer, Kulp, Wachs and Mursau.

August 24, 2017 Referred to Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety

# October 19, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present:	(5)	Senator Wanggaard; Senators Stroebel, Risser,
		L. Taylor and Testin.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Representative Evan Goyke
- Representative Jessie Rodriguez
- Senator LaTonya Johnson
- Rebecca Foley Milwaukee County Family Drug Treatment Court
- Rebecca Foley Wisconsin Association of Drug Treatment Court Professionals
- Caitlin Overton Milwaukee County Behavioral Health Division
- Caitlin Overton Wisconsin Association of Drug Treatment Court Professionals
- Judge Joseph Donald Milwaukee County Children's Court
- Mariah Ahlers Saint A
- Kelly Davis Children's Hospital
- Lonna Morouney Department of Children and Families
- Michelle Rawlings Department of Children and Families
- Connie Klick Children's Hospital of Wisconsin

#### Appearances Against

• None.

### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

### **Registrations For**

- Judge Mary Triggiano Milwaukee County Courthouse
- Senator Alberta Darling
- Amy Devine Disability Rights Wisconsin
- Michelle Jensen Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention Board
- Andrea Kaminski League of Women Voters of Wisconsin
- Anastasia Reisinger
- Nancy Rottier Director of State Courts
- Lynne Davis State Bar of Wisconsin Children and Law Section
- Jodi Bloch Children's Hospital of Wisconsin
- Linda Hall WI Association of Family and Children's Agencies
- Kathryn Mulligan
- Patricia LaCross

#### **Registrations Against**

• None.

### **Registrations for Information Only**

- None.
- October 24, 2017 Executive Session Held

Present:	(5)	Senator Wanggaard; Senators Stroebel, Risser, L. Taylor and Testin.
Absent: Excused:	(0) (0)	None.

Moved by Senator Testin, seconded by Senator Stroebel that **Senate Bill 390** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (5) Senator Wanggaard; Senators Stroebel, Risser, L. Taylor and Testin.
- Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Valirie Maxim Committee Clerk