Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Financial Services, Constitution and Federalism

Senate Joint Resolution 19

Relating to: rules and procedures for convening an Article V convention proposing amendments to the Constitution of the United States.

By Senators Kapenga, Craig and Lasee; cosponsored by Representatives Bernier, Knodl, E. Brooks, Duchow, Edming, Hutton, Jarchow, Kremer, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kulp, Mursau, Neylon, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Schraa, Spiros and Steffen.

March 16, 2017 Federalism Referred to Committee on Financial Services, Constitution and

March 28, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Craig; Senators Stroebel, Feyen,

Vinehout and Risser.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Sen. Chris Kapenga State Senator 33rd District
- Rep. Dan Knodl State Representative 24th District
- Rep. Gary Banz Former legislator from Oklahoma
- Thomas Llewellyn Balanced Budget Amendment Task Force
- David Guldenschuh Heartland Institute

Appearances Against

- Elliot Stokes
- Matt Rothschild WI Democracy Campaign
- Max Blaska
- Ben Marquez
- Tom German
- Matthew Trewhellon Mercy Seat Church
- Sandra Ruggles Eagle Forum & PS Eagles
- Stephanie Ash ACLU of WI
- Consvelo Lopez Springfield League of Women Voters of WI
- Trudi Whitney
- Carlene Bechen
- Richard Bechen
- Karen Gunderson

- Rita Mae Reese
- Jesse Pycha-Host
- Gabriel Clemente
- Will Gruber
- Scot Ross One WI Now
- Leonard Kaplan
- Martha Kaplan

Appearances for Information Only

Daniel Berry

Registrations For

Brian Higgins

Registrations Against

- Sen. Dave Hansen State Senator 30th District
- Rep. Sondy Pope State Representative 80th District
- Rep. Dana Wachs State Representative 91st District
- Rep. Chris Taylor State Representative 76th District
- Rep. Tod Ohnstad State Representative 65th District
- Raymond Kirk Anderson WI Faith Voices for Justice
- Mary Anglin
- John Bell
- Laura Berger
- Gail Bliss
- Suzanne Breckenridge
- Dan Cornwell
- Sally Drew
- Cheri Dubiel
- Cassandra Frankel
- Carla Galler
- Tony Gibart End Domestic Abuse WI
- D Glodoski
- Jill Groblewski
- Victoria Gutierrez
- Barbara Jean Hill
- John Huebscher
- Mitchell Hussbaum
- Lisa Jacobson
- Joanne Kanter
- Sarah Kaplan
- Amy Maurer
- Scott Maurer

- Tom McClintock
- Jake Miller
- Suzanne Miller
- Kathie Nichols
- Chris Nyland
- Genie Ogden
- Juscha Robinson
- Daniel Ruggles PS Eagles
- Whitney S
- Marilyn Schneider The John Birch Society
- Vin Schneider
- Peter Sobol
- Dianne Steinbach
- Darlyne Steinweg
- Clara Trewhella
- James Unrath
- Sandra Ward
- Gary Wiflack
- Jeanne Wright
- Nadine Wright

Registrations for Information Only

None.

March 30, 2017 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (5) Senator Craig; Senators Stroebel, Feyen,

Vinehout and Risser.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Feyen, seconded by Senator Stroebel that **Senate Joint Resolution 19** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (3) Senator Craig; Senators Stroebel and Feyen.

Noes: (2) Senators Vinehout and Risser.

ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

William Neville
Committee Clerk