Record of Committee Proceedings

Joint Committee on Finance

August 2017 Special Session Senate Bill 1

Relating to: authorizing the creation of an electronics and information technology manufacturing zone, making changes to the enterprise zone tax credit program, authorizing limited use of the design-build construction process, granting contingent highway bonding authority, and making appropriations.

By committee on Senate Organization, by request of Governor Scott Walker.

August 10, 2017 Referred to Joint Committee on Finance

August 22, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (16) Senator Darling; Representative Nygren;

Senators Olsen, Harsdorf, Marklein, Tiffany,

Vukmir, L. Taylor and Erpenbach;

Representatives Kooyenga, Loudenbeck, Felzkowski, Born, Rohrkaste, Hintz and

Shankland.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Patrich Hoppe Gateway
- Jennifer Giegerich WI League of Conservation Voters
- Secretary Scott Neitzel DOA
- Secretary Mark Hogan WEDC
- Bryan Albrecht Gateway Tech College
- Lisa Bell
- Jorge Franco Hispanic Chamber Commerce of WI
- Andrew Ewert Village of Waterford
- Elizabeth Cliffe Ascension WI
- Rep Tad Ohnstad State Assembly 65th
- Rep Cory Mason State Assembly 66th
- Jonathan Delagrave Racine County
- Jenny Trick RCEDC
- Jim Kruesser Kenosha County Exec
- John Antarumian Mayor of Kenosha
- Tim Sheely MMAC/M7
- Dr, Rolf Wegenke WI Assoc of Independent Colleges and Universites
- Alfoncso Gardner
- Chris Neff

- George Stoner Village of Somers President
- Mark Molinaro
- Michael Lovell Marquette University
- Lindsey Schmidt RUSD- Racine Unified Real School
- Curt Shirrel RUSD

Appearances Against

- Robert Slamka We the People
- Brian Vigue WI Wetlands Assoc
- Denny Smith
- Kevin Kane Citiznes Action of WI
- Allen Lovie
- Jay Warner
- Melissa Warner Sierra Club
- Julia Cambell
- Jason Bkestiff
- Viegil Gentz Town of Puris
- Maria Elena Calhoun
- Tammy Wood
- Michael Dickman Take Back WI
- Allen Ruff
- Amber Meyer Smith Clean Wisconsin
- Raj Shukla River Alliance of WI
- Robert Brawner

Appearances for Information Only

- Marl Mone UWM
- Joe Bubaniewicz Sierra Club
- Glen Schwalbach
- Eric Carlberg
- Ola Baiyewn First Choice Pre-Apprenticeship
- Larry Gedemer
- Greg Husseldahl
- Dan Thielan RUSD

Registrations For

- John Jaraczewski University of Parkside
- Curdis Cermy
- Albert Douglas
- Paul Scriver

Registrations Against

- Carolyn Gahn
- Chris Gauk
- Tom Heraly MKE Area Tech College

- Denny Smith
- Mary McIlvaine
- Nancy Stangler
- Linda Ingaldson
- Jean Feil
- Kate Levy

Registrations for Information Only

• Toni Hanson - Citizens Action of WI

September 05, 2017 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (16) Senator Darling; Representative Nygren; Senators Olsen, Harsdorf, Marklein, Tiffany, Vukmir, L. Taylor and Erpenbach; Representatives Kooyenga, Loudenbeck, Felzkowski, Born, Rohrkaste, Hintz and Shankland.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Nygren, seconded by Senator Darling that **Senate Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (16) Senator Darling; Representative Nygren; Senators Olsen, Harsdorf, Marklein, Tiffany, Vukmir, L. Taylor and Erpenbach; Representatives Kooyenga, Loudenbeck, Felzkowski, Born, Rohrkaste, Hintz and Shankland.

Noes: (0) None.

SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 INTRODUCTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Nygren, seconded by Senator Darling that **Senate Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (12) Senator Darling; Representative Nygren; Senators Olsen, Harsdorf, Marklein, Tiffany and Vukmir; Representatives Kooyenga, Loudenbeck, Felzkowski, Born and Rohrkaste. Noes: (4) Senators L. Taylor and Erpenbach; Representatives Hintz and Shankland.

SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 4

Moved by Representative Nygren, seconded by Senator Darling that **August 2017 Special Session Senate Bill 1** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (12) Senator Darling; Representative Nygren; Senators Olsen, Harsdorf, Marklein, Tiffany and Vukmir; Representatives Kooyenga, Loudenbeck, Felzkowski, Born and Rohrkaste.

Noes: (4) Senators L. Taylor and Erpenbach; Representatives Hintz and Shankland.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 4

Joe Malkasian Committee Clerk