Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Workforce Development

Assembly Bill 745

Relating to: participation in an apprenticeship program by a high school senior and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Quinn, Kulp, E. Brooks, Tranel, Ballweg, Bernier, Felzkowski, Edming, Kitchens, Krug, Macco, Mursau, Nerison, Novak, Petryk, Pronschinske, Ripp, Spiros, Summerfield, Swearingen, Tauchen, Tusler, Zimmerman, Brandtjen, R. Brooks, Horlacher, Jarchow and Sinicki; cosponsored by Senators Testin, Marklein, Feyen and Stroebel.

December 13, 2017 Referred to Committee on Workforce Development

January 10, 2018 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (12) Representative Petryk; Representatives

Weatherston, Murphy, Allen, Kulp, E. Brooks, Brandtjen, Snyder, Billings, Spreitzer, Ohnstad

and Crowley.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Katsma and Riemer.

Appearances For

- Representative Romaine Quinn 75th Assembly District
- Senator Patrick Testin 24th Senate District
- Steven Geiger Interstate Sealant and Concrete
- Jeremy Severt Staat Construction
- Robert Riberich ABC of WI
- Jack Vogel Hills Wirlns Inc.
- Steve McNeal Corporate Contractors, Inc.
- Patrick Stockland Capitol Mechanical Inc.
- Terry Hayden WI Pipe Trades Association
- Tom Malesevich Sure-Fire, Inc.
- Roger Thimm Wondra Construction
- Collin Maas Pioneer Roofing

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

 Legislative Liaison Andrew Evenson - Department of Workforce Development

Registrations For

- Chris Reader WMC
- John Schulze ABC of WI
- Mark Reihl North Central States Regional Council of Carpenters
- Erik Knight Mechinical Contractors Association of Wisconsin
- Mike Welsch WEDA

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

January 16, 2018 Executive Session Held

Present: (14) Representative Petryk; Representatives Weatherston, Murphy, Allen, Katsma, Kulp, E.

Brooks, Brandtjen, Snyder, Billings, Spreitzer,

Riemer, Ohnstad and Crowley.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Brandtjen, seconded by Representative Brooks that **Assembly Bill 745** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representative Petryk; Representatives
Weatherston, Murphy, Allen, Katsma, Kulp,
E. Brooks, Brandtjen, Snyder, Billings,
Spreitzer, Riemer, Ohnstad and Crowley.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Anna Watson Committee Clerk