## **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Ways and Means**

### **Assembly Bill 140**

Relating to: tax administration changes, the police and fire protection fee, defining restaurant for purposes of alcohol beverage regulation, lottery ticket couriers, background investigations of persons associated with the lottery, and providing a criminal penalty.

By Representatives Novak, E. Brooks, Ripp, Skowronski and Spiros; cosponsored by Senator Marklein.

March 15, 2017 Referred to Committee on Ways and Means

April 06, 2017 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (12) Representative Macco; Representatives Katsma, Kerkman, Novak, Steffen, Jacque,

Bernier, Petersen, C. Taylor, Riemer, Ohnstad

and Doyle.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

### Appearances For

- Mike Wagner Department of Revenue
- Dan Olson Micon Cinemas
- Forbes McIntosh National Association of Movie Theaters
- Greg Carter CEC Theaters
- Brian Shander Marcus Theaters

#### Appearances Against

- Jason Culotta Wisconsin Manufactures and Commerce
- Craig Cookle

### **Appearances for Information Only**

• None.

### **Registrations For**

- Howard Marklein 17th Senate District
- Todd Novak 51st Assembly District

#### Registrations Against

• None.

### **Registrations for Information Only**

None.

### May 04, 2017 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (12) Representative Macco; Representatives

Katsma, Kerkman, Novak, Steffen, Jacque, Bernier, Petersen, C. Taylor, Riemer, Ohnstad

and Doyle.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Petersen that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (8) Representative Macco; Representatives Katsma, Kerkman, Novak, Steffen, Jacque, Bernier and Petersen.

Noes: (4) Representatives C. Taylor, Riemer, Ohnstad and Doyle.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Katsma that **Assembly Bill 140** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (10) Representative Macco; Representatives Katsma, Kerkman, Novak, Steffen, Jacque, Bernier, Petersen, Ohnstad and Doyle.

Noes: (2) Representatives C. Taylor and Riemer.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 2

Benjamin Joniaux Committee Clerk