Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Veterans and Military Affairs

Assembly Bill 520

Relating to: hunting, trapping, and fishing approvals issued to recipients of a medal awarded by the U.S. armed forces that is equal to or higher than the Purple Heart medal in order of precedence and maintenance of a list of such medals by the Department of Veterans Affairs.

By Representatives Kremer, Skowronski, Allen, Bernier, Brandtjen, Crowley, Duchow, Edming, Felzkowski, Gannon, Horlacher, Krug, Mason, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, Novak, Ott, Petryk, Pronschinske, Quinn, Ripp, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Spiros, Subeck, Thiesfeldt and Tittl; cosponsored by Senators Stroebel, Craig, Moulton and Marklein.

September 29, 2017 Referred to Committee on Veterans and Military Affairs

November 16, 2017 Public Hearing Held

| Present: | (12) | Representative Skowronski; Representatives |
|----------|------|--|
| | | VanderMeer, Petryk, Allen, Edming, |
| | | Summerfield, Ott, Tittl, Weatherston, Sinicki, |
| | | Goyke and Riemer. |
| Absent: | (3) | Representatives Nerison, Hesselbein and |
| | | Milroy. |
| Excused: | (0) | None. |

Appearances For

- Mike Hanke Amvets Dept. of WI
- Jason Johns VFW Dept of Wisconsin
- Representative Jesse Kramer 59th Assembly District
- Preston Johnson Veterans
- William Richardson

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Joshua Sheeran

Registrations For

- Rock Larson CVSO Association if WI
- Wayne Jensen American Legion
- Jason Johns Military Order of the Purple Heart
- Senator Duey Strobel 20th Senate District

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 04, 2018 Executive Session Held

| Present: | (14) | Representative Skowronski; Representatives |
|----------|------|---|
| | | VanderMeer, Petryk, Allen, Edming, Nerison, |
| | | Summerfield, Ott, Tittl, Weatherston, |
| | | Hesselbein, Milroy, Sinicki and Goyke. |
| Absent: | (0) | None. |
| Excused: | (1) | Representative Riemer. |

Moved by Representative Tittl, seconded by Representative Weatherston that **Assembly Bill 520** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representative Skowronski; Representatives VanderMeer, Petryk, Allen, Edming, Nerison, Summerfield, Ott, Tittl, Weatherston, Hesselbein, Milroy, Sinicki and Goyke.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Justin Phillips Committee Clerk