Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 381

Relating to: voluntary payments associated with special distinguishing registration plates expressing support for the family members of law enforcement officers who have died in the line of duty and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Steffen, Barca, Bowen, Edming, Genrich, Horlacher, Ripp, Spreitzer and Tusler.

June 08, 2017 Referred to Committee on Transportation

August 29, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Ripp; Representatives Spiros,

Thiesfeldt, Weatherston, Kulp, Vorpagel, E. Brooks, Skowronski, Macco, Wachs, Kolste,

Billings and Crowley.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Sanfelippo and Meyers.

Appearances For

- Rep. David Steffen 4th Assembly District
- Rep. Peter Barca 64th Assembly District
- Craig Kolbeck Wisconsin Law Enforcement Memorial
- Brian Willson Wisconsin Law Enforcement Memorial
- Steve Fitzsimmons

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- R.J. Pirlot Badger State Sheriffs' Association, and Wisconsin Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs Association
- Alice O'Connor Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

September 12, 2017 Executive Session Held

Present: (11) Representative Ripp; Representatives Spiros,
Thiesfeldt, Kulp, Vorpagel, Skowronski,
Macco, Wachs, Meyers, Billings and Crowley.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (4) Representatives Weatherston, Sanfelippo, E.

Brooks and Kolste.

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Vorpagel that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representative Ripp; Representatives Spiros, Thiesfeldt, Kulp, Vorpagel, Skowronski, Wachs, Meyers and Crowley.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Crowley that **Assembly Bill 381** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (11) Representative Ripp; Representatives Spiros, Thiesfeldt, Kulp, Vorpagel, Skowronski, Macco, Wachs, Meyers, Billings and Crowley.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Rep. E. Brooks would have voted Aye on passage if he had been present.

Matthew L. Rohrbeck
Committee Clerk