## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Small Business Development**

#### **Assembly Bill 640**

Relating to: creating the innovation fund and economic development programs funded by that fund, establishing the Innovation Fund Council, authorizing the State of Wisconsin Investment Board to provide certain advice and services to state agencies and others, and making appropriations.

By Representatives Neylon, Rohrkaste, Crowley, Fields, Genrich, Horlacher, Krug, Mursau, Ohnstad, Tusler, Zepnick and Goyke; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Wanggaard, Feyen, Johnson and Olsen.

November 14, 2017 Referred to Committee on Small Business Development

December 19, 2017 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (13) Representative Tauchen; Representatives

Edming, Tranel, Hutton, Allen, Duchow,

VanderMeer, Skowronski, Sargent, Zamarripa,

Billings, Kolste and Crowley.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Swearingen and Summerfield.

#### Appearances For

- Representative Adam Neylon State Assembly
- CEO Lisa Johnson BioForward
- CEO James Dias Wellbe, Inc
- President Todd Asmuth SHINE Medical Technologies
- President & CEO Dean Amhaus The Water Council
- Executive Vice President & General Counsel Jim Stern -A.O. Smith Corp
- Director of Industry Growth Brad Rostowkske FaB Wisconsin
- Owner & Founder Henry Schwartz MobCraft Brewery
- Vice President of Marketing & Research & Development Nick Fallucca - Palermo's Pizza
- Dr Bill Murphy UW-Madison
- Dr Kalpa Vithalani Medical College of Wisconsin

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

### **Registrations For**

- Rolf Wegenke Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges & Universities
- Meghan Jensen The Water Council
- Senator Alberta Darling State Senate
- Rob Marchant Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation
- Erik Kanter Milwaukee Metropolitan Sewage District
- Erik Kanter Medical College of Wisconsin
- Paul Radspinner FluGen, Inc
- Nicolas Paris Gilson, Inc
- Craig Atwood JangoBio
- Tom Joyce Regenerative Medical Solutions
- Dr Shouniuz Du BrainXell, Inc
- Rpresentative Josh Zepnick State Assembly
- Michael Welsh Wisconsin Economic Development Association
- Mary Czech-Mrochinski Marquette University
- Bill Murphy UW-Wisconsin
- Dan Thoma Grainger Institute for Engineering
- Carter Cliff Opsis Therapeutics
- Connie Lebakken Stem Pharm

## Registrations Against

None.

## **Registrations for Information Only**

• Rebecca Dechane - Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation

#### January 11, 2018 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Tauchen; Representatives
Edming, Tranel, Hutton, Allen, Swearingen,
Summerfield, Duchow, VanderMeer,
Skowronski, Sargent, Zamarripa, Billings,
Kolste and Crowley.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Swearingen, seconded by Representative Allen that **Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (15) Representative Tauchen; Representatives Edming, Tranel, Hutton, Allen, Swearingen, Summerfield, Duchow, VanderMeer, Skowronski, Sargent, Zamarripa, Billings, Kolste and Crowley.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Sargent, seconded by Representative Zamarripa that **Assembly Amendment 2 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Representatives Sargent, Zamarripa, Billings, Kolste and Crowley.

Noes: (10) Representative Tauchen; Representatives Edming, Tranel, Hutton, Allen, Swearingen, Summerfield, Duchow, VanderMeer and Skowronski.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 10

Moved by Representative Sargent, seconded by Representative Zamarripa that **Assembly Amendment 3 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Representatives Sargent, Zamarripa, Billings, Kolste and Crowley.

Noes: (10) Representative Tauchen; Representatives Edming, Tranel, Hutton, Allen, Swearingen, Summerfield, Duchow, VanderMeer and Skowronski.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 3 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 10

Moved by Representative Hutton, seconded by Representative Allen that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (15) Representative Tauchen; Representatives Edming, Tranel, Hutton, Allen, Swearingen, Summerfield, Duchow, VanderMeer, Skowronski, Sargent, Zamarripa, Billings, Kolste and Crowley.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Duchow, seconded by Representative Edming that **Assembly Bill 640** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (15) Representative Tauchen; Representatives
Edming, Tranel, Hutton, Allen, Swearingen,
Summerfield, Duchow, VanderMeer,
Skowronski, Sargent, Zamarripa, Billings,
Kolste and Crowley.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Craig Arrowood Committee Clerk