## Assembly

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Rural Development and Mining**

#### Assembly Bill 175

Relating to: identification and location information assigned to documents filed or recorded in the county register of deeds offices and registration of farm names by recording in the register of deeds office.

By Representatives Ballweg, Allen, Berceau, Brandtjen, E. Brooks, R. Brooks, Considine, Goyke, Horlacher, Krug, Mason, Meyers, Mursau, Ripp, Skowronski, Spiros, Tauchen, Thiesfeldt and Tusler; cosponsored by Senators Olsen, Harsdorf, Marklein, Nass and Wirch.

March 20, 2017	Referred to Committee on Rural Development and Mining			
May 03, 2017	Public Hearing Held			
	Present:	(12)	Representative VanderMeer; Representatives Kulp, Novak, R. Brooks, Quinn, E. Brooks, Kuglitsch, Pronschinske, Spreitzer, Milroy, Shankland and Vruwink.	
	Absent:	(0)	None.	
	Excused:	(0)	None.	

Appearances For

- Representative Joan Ballweg State Assembly
- Carey Petersilka WI Register of Deeds Association
- Beth Pabst WRDA
- Sarah Guenther WI Register of Deeds

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

**Registrations For** 

- Marcie Rainbolt WI Counties Association
- Emily Champagne Wisconsin Land Information Association
- Staci Hoffman WI Reg. of Deeds
- Jeremiah Erickson LION
- John LaFave Milwaukee County Register of Deeds
- Senator Luther Olson State Senate

#### **Registrations Against**

• None.

**Registrations for Information Only** 

• None.

### June 22, 2017 Executive Session Held

Present:	(10)	Representative VanderMeer; Representatives	
		Novak, R. Brooks, Quinn, Kuglitsch,	
		Pronschinske, Spreitzer, Milroy, Shankland and	
		Vruwink.	
Absent:	(0)	None.	
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Kulp and E. Brooks.	

Moved by Representative Novak, seconded by Representative Spreitzer that **Assembly Bill 175** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(10)	Representative VanderMeer;		
		Representatives Novak, R. Brooks, Quinn,		
		Kuglitsch, Pronschinske, Spreitzer, Milroy,		
		Shankland and Vruwink.		

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Representatives E. Brooks and Bob Kulp would have voted Aye on passage if they had been present.

Jesse Johnson Committee Clerk