# Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Regulatory Licensing Reform**

#### **Assembly Bill 547**

Relating to: permitting and mitigation requirements for nonfederal and artificial wetlands and state assumption of the federal regulatory program governing the discharge of dredged or fill material into navigable waters.

By Representatives Steineke, Stafsholt, E. Brooks, R. Brooks, Felzkowski, Horlacher, Jagler, Jarchow, Knodl, Kremer, Kuglitsch, Rodriguez, Allen and Hutton; cosponsored by Senators Roth, Craig, Feyen, Kapenga, LeMahieu and Lasee.

October 18, 2017 Referred to Committee on Regulatory Licensing Reform

December 21, 2017 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(6)	Representative Horlacher; Representatives
		Hutton, Jacque, Brostoff, Genrich and
		Anderson.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(3)	Representatives Ballweg, Macco and Quinn.

### Appearances For

- Representative Rob Stafsholt 29th Assembly District
- Senator Roger Roth 19th Senate District
- Tina Bunker
- Jill Hendricks
- John Elrick Village of Little Chute
- Howard Kamerer WOW Logistics Co.
- David Chrauser
- Raymond Diederich Diederich Farm LLC.
- Lynn Morgan Waste Management
- Chad M. Fradette Consultants/Clients
- Ben LaCount Consultants/Clients
- Mark Lake Wangard Real Estate
- Tom Larson Wisconsin Realtors Association & NAIOP
- Paul Kent Wisconsin Builders Association
- Brady Boycks Wisconsin Builders Association
- Daniel Guild Village of Weston Administrator
- John R. Davel Davel Engineering & Environmental
- Dave Uttech Keller
- Bob Norton
- Charles Hornang Village of North Fond du Lac
- Albert B. Skinner Mayor-City of Cumberland

- Dean Bergstrom Cumberland Municipal Utility
- Nick Schmidt
- John Holevoet Dairy Business Association
- Pete Thorson
- Lucas Vebber WMC
- Mark Breideil Keller, Inc.
- Jim Joling
- Gregory Ziegler
- Thomas Duerst
- Pete Read Keller, Inc. & ABC
- Doug Sutter Keller, Inc.
- Chad Wuebben WBA
- David Belman Wisconsin Builders Association & Belman Homes Inc.

### Appearances Against

- Joe Pfeiffer
- Martin J. Voss
- Allen O'Leary Northland Mitigation LLC. & Wetland & Wildlife LLC.
- Don Kirley Wisconsin Waterfowl Association
- Scott Pritta
- Lloyd Eagan Friends of Pheasant Branch Conservancy
- Al Shook Waukesha County Conservation Alliance
- Nels Swenson & Kyle rorah Ducks Unlimited
- Lynn Persson
- Jim Stroschein
- Thomas Johnston, MD
- Larry Bonde Wisconsin Conservation Congress
- Todd Cook Wisconsin Conservation Congress
- Erin O'Brien Wisconsin Wetlands Association
- George Meyer Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Mike Kuhr Wisconsin Trout Unlimited
- Ed Judge
- Alex Weber Pheasants Forever
- Peter I. Slaby
- Marty Moses Pheasants Forever
- Larry Meyer Conservation Congress-Rock Co./Wisconsin Trappers Assoc./Wisconsin Wetlands Assoc.
- Michael Engleson Wiconsin Lakes
- Doung Fendry
- Justin T. Schultz
- Sarah Barry Clean Wisconsin

- Paul Heinen The Nature Conservancy
- Laurie Smaguck Johnson

#### Appearances for Information Only

- Russ Rasmussen Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
- Tom Jerow Wis. Green Fire
- Ron Eckstein Wis. Green Fire
- Nick Haus Wisconsin Environmental Restorations, LLC.

## **Registrations For**

- Tim Roehl Self
- Terrence Wall T Wall Enterprises
- Paul Zimmerman Wisconsin Farm Bureau
- Nathan Conrad Natural Resource Development Association
- Bob Welch Wisconsin Corn Growers Association
- Bob Welch Fox Valley Riparian Rights Association
- Representative David Murphy 56th Assembly District
- Michael Welsh Wisconsin Economic Development Association
- Cherish Schwenn Wisconsin Ready Mix Concrete Association
- Bill Eberle Breeze Dairy Group
- Eric Bott Americans for Prosperity WI
- Peter Joling
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin State Cranberry Growers Association
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Association
- Jordan Lamb Advanced Disposal
- Rob Marchant Wisconsin Water Alliance
- Seth Hudson Cider Corp.
- Pat Goss WTBA
- Jerry Deschane Leage of Wisconsin Municipalities

## **Registrations Against**

- Cheryl Nenn Milwaukee Riverkeeper
- Molly May Thoma
- James Voss
- Joe Strohl Menominee Indian Tribe
- Randy Helbach Wisconsin Waterfowl Association
- Genie Ogden
- Nikolas Brahmer

- Diane Packett
- Ed Harvey
- Gwen Cassis
- Ava Kahn
- Hayat Brahmer
- Rose Meinholz
- John Reindl
- D. Ernst Meyer
- Kara O'Connor Wisconsin Farmers Union
- Michael Noll
- Calvin Lawrence
- Chris Smith
- Judy Skog
- Ken Skog
- John H. Daly Friends of Pheasant Branch Conservancy
- Bruce Ross Ducks Unlimited
- Susan Shearer
- Robert Schearer RMS Wetlands, LLC.
- David Gebauer
- Will Gruber
- Marian Celeswli
- Darleen McDuffee
- Bill Davis Sierra Club
- Steve Kass Ducks Unlimited
- Bob Spoerl Ducks Unlimited
- Ray Smith Ducks Unlimited
- Senator Fred Risser 26th Senate District
- Priya Heinen
- Tom Dalveja
- Jayme Meyers Wisconsin Conservation Congress
- Tom Hauge
- Daniel D. Carroll
- Scott McAuley
- Chris Nyland
- Ruth Ann Lee Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Kevyn Quamme Wisconsin Wildlife Federation/ Wings Over Wisconsin
- George Johnson Wisconsin Wetlands Association
- Jeff Johnson Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Alice Thompson Thompson & Associates Wetland Services
- Theran Stautz
- Scott Zimmermann Wisconsin Trapper's Association
- Harold Drake Dodge County Alliance

- Penelope Shackelford
- Gary Shackelford
- Ann Johnston Wisconsin Wildlife Foundation
- Tim Grunewald International Crane Foundation
- Roberta Herschlieb
- Gary Dieck Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Raj Shukla River Alliance of Wisconsin
- Charlie Booher
- Chris Danou Gathering Waters
- Linn Duesterbeck WWA, Ducks Unlimited
- Kim Genich
- Nicholas Dmytrenko
- Kristina Femal
- Jake Dickmann
- Chelsey Blanke
- Jennifer Thiene
- Melissa Gibson

#### **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

#### February 01, 2018 Executive Session Held

Present:	(9)	Representative Horlacher; Representatives
		Ballweg, Hutton, Jacque, Macco, Quinn,
		Brostoff, Genrich and Anderson.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Brostoff, seconded by Representative Genrich that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (4) Representatives Jacque, Brostoff, Genrich and Anderson.
- Noes: (5) Representative Horlacher; Representatives Ballweg, Hutton, Macco and Quinn.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 5

Moved by Representative Macco, seconded by Representative Hutton that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes:(6)Representative Horlacher; Representatives<br/>Ballweg, Hutton, Jacque, Macco and Quinn.
- Noes: (3) Representatives Brostoff, Genrich and Anderson.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Moved by Representative Macco, seconded by Representative Quinn that **Assembly Bill 547** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (6) Representative Horlacher; Representatives Ballweg, Hutton, Jacque, Macco and Quinn.
- Noes: (3) Representatives Brostoff, Genrich and Anderson.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Anna Schwarz Committee Clerk