## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Public Benefit Reform**

#### January 2018 Special Session Assembly Bill 3

Relating to: asset restrictions on eligibility for FoodShare, Wisconsin Works, and Wisconsin Shares.

By committee on Assembly Organization, Representatives Vos, Felzkowski, Thiesfeldt, Sanfelippo, Tusler, Petersen, Duchow, Petryk, Kuglitsch, Tittl, Knodl, Brandtjen, Murphy, Spiros, Wichgers, Bernier, Kleefisch, Rohrkaste, Katsma, Born, Kremer and Swearingen; cosponsored by Senators Kapenga, Craig, Darling, LeMahieu, Marklein, Stroebel, Vukmir and Wanggaard, by request of Governor Scott Walker.

January 26, 2018 Referred to Committee on Public Benefit Reform

January 31, 2018 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(9)	Representative Krug; Representatives
		Vorpagel, Brandtjen, Schraa, Kremer, Petersen,
		Subeck, Kolste and Riemer.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Representative Jesse Kremer 59th Assemmbly District
- Doug Ender
- Matthew Hoffland
- Andrew Dellinger
- Margaret Fincham
- Christopher Muller
- Dave Drewes
- Stephen Kapps
- Chytania Brown DWD, Division Administrator Employment and Training
- Brad Wassink Assistant Deputy Secretary, Department of Children and Families
- Jennifer Malcore Assistant Deputy Secretary, Department of Children and Families
- John Nothdurft The Heartland Institute
- Senator Chris Kapenga 33rd Senate District
- Representative Robin Vos 63rd Assembly District

Appearances Against

• Kevin Runnie - Hunger Relief Federation of WI

- Maureen Fitzgerald Hunger Task Force
- Bianca Shaw
- Vicky Selkowe Legal Action of WI
- Jonathan Bader WISCAP
- Lisa Pugh Survial Coalition of Wisconsin
- Amy Devined Wisconsin Disability Organization
- Barbra Sella Wisconsin Catholic Conference
- Pastor Cindy Crane Lutheran office for public policy
- Chase Tarrier End Domestic Abuse WI
- Peter Bakken WI Council of Churces
- Reverend Michael Rehak WI Faith Voices for Justice

#### Appearances for Information Only

• Tami Jackson - WI Board for People with Developmental Disabilities

### **Registrations For**

- Eric Bott Americans for Prosperity
- Wendy Herr
- Chris Adams
- Sandra Roellich
- Larry Vangen
- Carrie Wisinski
- Melissa Moss
- Dorothy Tambornino
- Jean DeGuire
- Loren Arends
- Jamie De Guire
- Juliya Gabrielle
- Kayla Gabrieke
- Lindsey Fillian
- Scott Smith
- Caty McDermott Opportunity Solutions Project
- Chris Reader WI Manufacturers and Commerce

### **Registrations Against**

- Amy Devine Disability Rights Wisconsin
- Erin Miller
- Charisse Danielis
- David Lee Feeding Wisconsin
- Sarah Shatz
- Laurie Rudie
- Leslie McAllistor
- Adrienne Ramirez

- Chris Nyland
- Elizabeth Klons
- Emily Lassiter
- Norm Littlejohn
- James Penczykowski
- Stacia Connedy
- Amanda Meloy
- Elise Buchbinder
- Diara Parker
- Michael Goodman
- Lauren Gerger
- Karen Tredwell Food Pantry of Waukesha County, Inc.
- Representative Melissa Sargent
- Marsha Mansfield UW family Court Clinic
- Karen Banaszak
- Jeff Rainke
- Andrea Kaminski League of Women voters

#### **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

February 06, 2018 Executive Session Held

 Present: (8) Representative Krug; Representatives Vorpagel, Brandtjen, Schraa, Petersen, Subeck, Kolste and Riemer.
Absent: (0) None.
Excused: (1) Representative Kremer.

Moved by Representative Brandtjen, seconded by Representative Petersen that **January 2018 Special Session Assembly Bill 3** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (5) Representative Krug; Representatives Vorpagel, Brandtjen, Schraa and Petersen.
- Noes: (3) Representatives Subeck, Kolste and Riemer.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

Hannah Gibbs Committee Clerk