Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Public Benefit Reform

January 2018 Special Session Assembly Bill 8

Relating to: requiring child support compliance in the Medical Assistance program.

By committee on Assembly Organization, Representatives Vos, Krug, Felzkowski, Thiesfeldt, Jagler, Sanfelippo, Tusler, Petersen, Duchow, Petryk, Kuglitsch, Tittl, Horlacher, Knodl, Brandtjen, Murphy, Spiros, Neylon, Wichgers, Bernier, Kleefisch, Rohrkaste, Katsma, Born, Kremer and Swearingen; cosponsored by Senators Kapenga, Craig, Cowles, Darling, LeMahieu, Nass, Stroebel and Wanggaard, by request of Governor Scott Walker.

January 26, 2018 Referred to Committee on Public Benefit Reform

January 31, 2018 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Representative Krug; Representatives

Vorpagel, Brandtjen, Schraa, Kremer, Petersen,

Subeck, Kolste and Riemer.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Representative Jesse Kremer 59th Assembly District
- Chytania Brown DWD, Division Administrator Employment and Training
- Brad Wassink Assistant Deputy Secretary, Department of Children and Families
- Jennifer Malcore Assistant Deputy Secretary, Department of Children and Families
- John Nothdurft The Heartland Institute
- Senator Chris Kapenga 33rd Senate District
- Representative Robin Vos 63rd Assembly District

Appearances Against

- Bianca Shaw
- Vicky Selkowe Legal Action of WI
- Jonathan Bader WISCAP
- Marsha Mansfield UW family Court Clinic
- Pastor Cindy Crane Lutheran office for public policy
- Chase Tarrier End Domestic Abuse WI
- Peter Bakken WI Council of Churces

• Reverend Michael Rehak - WI Faith Voices for Justice

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Dorothy Tambornino
- Jean DeGuire
- Loren Arends
- Jamie De Guire
- Juliya Gabrielle
- Kayla Gabrieke
- Lindsey Fillian
- Scott Smith
- Caty McDermott Opportunity Solutions Project
- Stephen Kappes
- Chris Reader WI Manufacturers and Commerce

Registrations Against

- Charisse Danielis
- Sarah Shatz
- Laurie Rudie
- Leslie McAllistor
- Adrienne Ramirez
- Chris Nyland
- Elizabeth Klons
- Emily Lassiter
- Norm Littlejohn
- Becky Schigiel Worker Justice Wisconsin
- James Penczykowski
- Stacia Connedy
- Lynne Davis State Bar of WI Family Law Section
- Eric Bott Americans for Prosperity
- Wendy Herr
- Chris Adams
- Sandra Roellich
- Larry Vangen
- Carrie Wisinski
- Melissa Moss
- Amanda Meloy
- Mickey Beil Dane County
- Elise Buchbinder
- Diara Parker
- Michael Goodman

- Lauren Gerger
- Karen Tredwell Food Pantry of Waukesha County, Inc.
- Representative Melissa Sargent
- Karen Banaszak
- Jeff Rainke
- Andrea Kaminski League of Women voters

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 06, 2018 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (8) Representative Krug; Representatives
Vorpagel, Brandtjen, Schraa, Petersen, Subeck,
Kolste and Riemer.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Kremer.

Moved by Representative Brandtjen, seconded by Representative Petersen that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Representative Krug; Representatives Vorpagel, Brandtjen, Schraa and Petersen.

Noes: (3) Representatives Subeck, Kolste and Riemer.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

Moved by Representative Brandtjen, seconded by Representative Petersen that **January 2018 Special Session Assembly Bill 8** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (5) Representative Krug; Representatives Vorpagel, Brandtjen, Schraa and Petersen.

Noes: (3) Representatives Subeck, Kolste and Riemer.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

Hannah Gibbs Committee Clerk