Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Public Benefit Reform

Assembly Bill 234

Relating to: creating an Interagency Council on Homelessness and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Steineke, Pronschinske, Rodriguez, Snyder, Ballweg, Edming, Gannon, Genrich, Jagler, Katsma, Krug, Kulp, Loudenbeck, Mursau, Novak, Petryk, Ripp, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Spiros, Steffen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, Tusler, VanderMeer, Subeck, Kitchens, Sinicki, E. Brooks and Felzkowski; cosponsored by Senators Darling and Olsen.

April 13, 2017 Referred to Committee on Public Benefit Reform

April 18, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (7) Representative Krug; Representatives

Vorpagel, Schraa, Kremer, Petersen, Subeck

and Riemer.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Brandtjen and Kolste.

Appearances For

- Rep. Jim Steineke State Leg
- Rep. Patrick Snyder State Leg
- Oean Loumos -
- Erin Blair West CAP
- Andrew Disch Apartment Association of South Central Wi.
- Julie Bock Pathfinders MKE
- Joseph Volk Wi. Coalition against Homelessness
- Carrie Poser Wi. Bos COC
- Jeanette Petts Balance of State CO C
- Andi Elliott Community Advocates

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Frederick Olsen III self
- Eric Peterson Milwukee County Exec Abele

Registrations For

• Mikey Beil - Dane County

- Karl Schoendorl LoCausa
- Jesse Rodriguez State leg.
- Jim Farrell Hope House of Milwaukee
- Vicky Selkowe Legal Action of Wi.
- Rep. Treig Pronschinske State Leg.
- Sen. Alberta Darling State Leg.
- Pam Anderson Marathnon County Housing & homeless coalition
- Jean Fisher -
- Housing First Coalition Housing First Coalition -Housing First Coalition
- Milwaukee Continuum of Care Milwaukee Continuum of Care Milwaukee Continuum of Care
- Milwaukee Shelter and Transitional housing task force
 Milwaukee Shelter and Transitional housing task force
 Milwaukee Shelter and Transitional housing task force

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

April 20, 2017 Executive Session Held

Present: (8) Representative Krug; Representatives

Vorpagel, Schraa, Kremer, Petersen, Subeck,

Kolste and Riemer.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Brandtjen.

Moved by Representative Subeck, seconded by Representative Kolste that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (3) Representatives Subeck, Kolste and Riemer.

Noes: (5) Representative Krug; Representatives Vorpagel, Schraa, Kremer and Petersen.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 5

Moved by Representative Kolste, seconded by Representative Riemer that **Assembly Bill 234** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (8) Representative Krug; Representatives Vorpagel, Schraa, Kremer, Petersen, Subeck, Kolste and Riemer.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Randy Thorson Committee Clerk