Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Mental Health

Assembly Bill 938

Relating to: grants to the Center for Suicide Awareness, Inc., and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Rohrkaste, Steineke, Jacque, Shankland, Anderson, Ballweg, Sinicki, Zepnick, Tittl, Spreitzer, Tusler, Berceau, Spiros, Mursau and VanderMeer; cosponsored by Senators L. Taylor, Darling, Bewley, Petrowski, Erpenbach, Carpenter, Shilling and Testin.

February 09, 2018 Referred to Committee on Mental Health

February 19, 2018 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Representative Tittl; Representatives Ballweg, Sanfelippo, Snyder, Spiros, Considine, Sargent, Brostoff and Stuck.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Jagler, Novak and VanderMeer.

Appearances For

- State Representative Mike Rohrkaste 55th Assembly District
- Shel Gross Mental Health America of Wisconsin
- Leah Rolando
- Barb Bigalke Center for Suicide Awareness
- Mark Mullins Hopeline
- Mike Crum Center for Suicide Awareness
- Police Officer Andy Naylor City of Madison Police Department

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Nick Levendofsky - Wisconsin Farmers Union

Registrations For

- State Representative Jim Steineke 5th Assembly District
- State Senator Lena Taylor 4th Senate District
- Richard Thibert

- Dee Pettack State of Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
- Kimberly Wadas Wisconsin Catholic Conference

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 20, 2018 Executive Session Held

Present: (11) Representative Tittl; Representatives Jagler,

Ballweg, Novak, Sanfelippo, Snyder, Spiros,

Considine, Sargent, Brostoff and Stuck.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative VanderMeer.

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Jagler that **Assembly Bill 938** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (11) Representative Tittl; Representatives Jagler, Ballweg, Novak, Sanfelippo, Snyder, Spiros,

Considine, Sargent, Brostoff and Stuck.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Steve Hall

Committee Clerk