### **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

#### **Committee on Labor**

#### **Assembly Bill 499**

Relating to: the regulation of nonferrous metallic mining, prospecting, exploration, and bulk sampling, repealing administrative rules relating to wetlands, granting rule-making authority, and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Hutton, Kulp, Jarchow, Rodriguez, Horlacher, Quinn, Macco, Sanfelippo, Edming, Kremer, Gannon, Tauchen, Duchow, Kleefisch, Skowronski, Wichgers, Knodl, Bernier, Kooyenga, R. Brooks, Zimmerman and Brandtjen; cosponsored by Senators Tiffany, Fitzgerald, Darling, LeMahieu, Moulton, Feyen, Stroebel, Kapenga, Wanggaard, Craig, Lasee, Nass and Vukmir.

September 14, 2017 Referred to Committee on Labor

#### October 13, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (8) Representative Kulp; Representatives Spiros,

Knodl, Schraa, Quinn, Sinicki, Bowen and

Ohnstad.

Absent: (1) Representative Kuglitsch.

Excused: (0) None.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Rob Hutton 13th Assembly District
- Sen. Tom Tiffany 12th Senate District
- Paul Kent Keweenaw Copper Co.
- Steve Donohue Foth
- Steve Kohlmann Independent Business Assoc. of WI
- Lucas Vebber Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce
- Tom Klimek EALS Railroad
- Steve Bass MMAC

#### Appearances Against

- Chairman Gary Besaw Menonimee Indian Tribe of WI
- Hildy Feen
- Sarah Berry Clean Wisconsin
- Paul Daigle Marathon County
- Dave Blouin Sierra Club
- Sister Regina McKillip Dominican Sisters of Sinsinauwa
- Tina VanZile Sokaugon Chippewa
- Jame Schumacher

- Tony Brown
- Mary Hanson
- Heidi Oberstadt
- Mary Kemnitz
- Mike Kuhr Wisconsin Trout Unlimited
- Gil Halsted
- Janet Parker
- Paula Mohan
- John Fons
- Raj Shukla River Alliance of WI
- Jason Huberty
- Michael Engleson Wisconsin Lakes
- Dan Cornwell
- James Parra Midwest Environmental Advocates
- Will Sandstrom
- Charlette Spider
- Phyllis Habrouch
- Phil Hohensee
- Earl Dougovito
- Jennifer Gegerich Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters
- Regina Chalty
- Anthony Corey
- Natalie Lashnet
- Scott Lindquist

#### Appearances for Information Only

- Pat Stevens Wisconsin DNR
- Cheryl Heilman Wisconsin DNR
- George Meyer WI Wildlife Federation
- Maureen Fieberg

#### Registrations For

- Pat Goss WTBA
- Nathan Conrad Natural Resource Development Association
- Ron Kuehn Aquilla Resources
- Rep. James Edming 87th Assembly District
- Matt Adamczyk WI State Treasurer
- Laura Skaar American Exploration and Mining Assoc.

#### **Registrations Against**

- Ryan Billingham
- John Haugen

- Allison Werner
- Mac Robertson
- Read Eldred
- Jacklyn Velasquez
- Brian Oberstadt
- Carol Buelow
- Matt Krueger
- Katya Whiterabbit White Rabbit Grove RDNA
- Herman Whiterabbit
- Maureen Gerarden
- Arianda Pardcock
- James Gifford
- Barbara Gifford Friends of the Ployer River
- Dennis Maudt
- Lauren Koshere
- Patricia Fleming
- Marc Hansen
- Ed Jeannette
- Forbes McIntosh Oneida Nation
- Mary Murrell
- Sally Bowers
- Linda Candlin Sierra Club
- Dawn-Marie Zimmerman
- Stewart Strove
- Marylyn Strove
- Kim Genich
- Ron Shanovich Sierra Club
- Julie Schwab
- Evie Storto
- Michelle Guilette WI League of Conservation Voters
- Barb Bryce Sierra Club/League of WI Voters
- Carol Cantwell Sierra Club/Wis. League of Conservation Voters
- Matthew Dannenberg
- Charles Pies Wisconsin Chapter, the Wildlife Society
- Bob Skloot
- Ron Anderson
- Kerry Schumann
- Kim Wright Midwest Env. Adv.
- Bill Dani Sierra Club
- Omie Baldwin
- Kate MacCrimmen
- Tom Thrall
- Paul Heinen The Nature Conservancy

- Glenda Henning
- David Henning
- Marc Rosenthal Madison Arcatao Sister City Project
- Morgan Aten
- Jessica Renley
- Katherine Odell
- Dan Fields
- Lois Bergerson
- Steven Esparza
- Colleen Cleary
- Kevin Clark
- Rebecca Neal
- Lynn Keller
- Tom Boswell
- Jon Becker
- Todd Albers
- Jo Garrett
- Roger Hanson
- Anna Biermeier
- Hinu Smith Ho-Chunk Nation
- Kat Beyer
- Elena Noyes
- Chris Nyland
- Rose Sime
- James Sime
- Kathy Rasmussen
- Janie Riebe
- Debra Fried
- Marian Celesnik
- Joan Braune
- Susan Cohen
- James Lundlach
- Susan Bietila
- Hugh Schmidt
- Jeffery Evan Arnold
- Mitchell Nussbaum
- Jane Jiumalch
- Genie Ogden
- Joshua Skolnick
- Lynn Pensson
- Beverly Mazar
- Joy Morgen
- Thomas Thoresen
- Frankie Fuller

- John Herbst
- Bernie Schlafke
- Rep. Gary Hebl 46th Assembly District
- Mike Neseman
- Susan Johnson
- Barbara Alverado
- Duncan cannot read
- Don Hammes
- Cindy Crane Lutheran Office for Public policy in WI

#### **Registrations for Information Only**

Caty McDermott

#### October 31, 2017 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (9) Representative Kulp; Representatives Kuglitsch, Spiros, Knodl, Schraa, Quinn,

Sinicki, Bowen and Ohnstad.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Knodl, seconded by Representative Kulp that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (6) Representative Kulp; Representatives Kuglitsch, Spiros, Knodl, Schraa and Quinn.

Noes: (3) Representatives Sinicki, Bowen and Ohnstad.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Moved by Representative Knodl, seconded by Representative Quinn that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (6) Representative Kulp; Representatives Kuglitsch, Spiros, Knodl, Schraa and Quinn.

Noes: (3) Representatives Sinicki, Bowen and Ohnstad.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Moved by Representative Quinn, seconded by Representative Schraa that **Assembly Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (6) Representative Kulp; Representatives Kuglitsch, Spiros, Knodl, Schraa and Quinn.

Noes: (3) Representatives Sinicki, Bowen and Ohnstad.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Moved by Representative Schraa, seconded by Representative Knodl that **Assembly Amendment 4** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (6) Representative Kulp; Representatives Kuglitsch, Spiros, Knodl, Schraa and Quinn.

Noes: (3) Representatives Sinicki, Bowen and Ohnstad.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 4 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Moved by Representative Knodl, seconded by Representative Schraa that **Assembly Amendment 5** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (6) Representative Kulp; Representatives Kuglitsch, Spiros, Knodl, Schraa and Quinn.

Noes: (3) Representatives Sinicki, Bowen and Ohnstad.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 5 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Moved by Representative Knodl, seconded by Representative Kulp that **Assembly Amendment 6** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (6) Representative Kulp; Representatives Kuglitsch, Spiros, Knodl, Schraa and Quinn.

Noes: (3) Representatives Sinicki, Bowen and Ohnstad.

# ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 6 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Moved by Representative Knodl, seconded by Representative Schraa that **Assembly Bill 499** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (6) Representative Kulp; Representatives Kuglitsch, Spiros, Knodl, Schraa and Quinn.

Noes: (3) Representatives Sinicki, Bowen and Ohnstad.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Lance Burri Committee Clerk