Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Judiciary

January 2017 Special Session Assembly Bill 5

Relating to: prevention and control of, emergency and involuntary commitment for, and treatment programs and services for drug dependence.

By committee on Assembly Organization, Representatives Nygren, E. Brooks, VanderMeer, Tranel, Ripp, Quinn, Petryk, Kleefisch, Swearingen, Skowronski, Fields, Kulp, Allen, Spiros, Felzkowski, Mursau, Horlacher, Rohrkaste, Tusler, Edming, Krug, Petersen, Jagler, Rodriguez, Born, Murphy, Ballweg, Genrich, Bernier and Knodl; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Vukmir, Harsdorf, Testin, Olsen, Wanggaard, L. Taylor, Wirch and Lasee., by request of Governor Scott Walker

February 17, 2017 Referred to Committee on Judiciary

March 08, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Representative Ott; Representatives Horlacher,

Thiesfeldt, Jacque, Tusler, Kerkman, Wachs,

Hebl and C. Taylor.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Michelle Jaskulski
- Rep. John Nygren, bill's author

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

Sarah Diedrick Kasdorf - WI Counties Association

Registrations For

- Chris Nyland Myself Legal observer
- Senator Alberta Darling, bill's author
- Mark Grapentine WI Medical Society
- Skye Tikkanen Safe Communities

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 20, 2017 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (9) Representative Ott; Representatives Horlacher, Thiesfeldt, Jacque, Tusler, Kerkman, Wachs,

Hebl and C. Taylor.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Thiesfeldt that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representative Ott; Representatives Horlacher, Thiesfeldt, Jacque, Tusler, Kerkman, Wachs, Hebl and C. Taylor.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Hebl, seconded by Representative Tusler that **January 2017 Special Session Assembly Bill 5** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (9) Representative Ott; Representatives Horlacher, Thiesfeldt, Jacque, Tusler, Kerkman, Wachs, Hebl and C. Taylor.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Virginia Mueller Committee Clerk