Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Housing and Real Estate

Assembly Bill 771

Relating to: the authority of political subdivisions to regulate rental properties and historic properties and of municipalities to inspect dwellings, public utility service to rental dwelling units, landlord and tenant regulations, fees imposed by a political subdivision, certain levy limit reductions, certain procedural changes in eviction actions, information available on the consolidated court automated Internet site, discrimination in housing against individuals who keep certain animals, falsely claiming an animal to be a service animal, municipal administrative procedure, enforcement of the rental unit energy efficiency program, and providing penalties.

By Representatives R. Brooks, Schraa and Brandtjen; cosponsored by Senators Lasee and Craig.

December 19, 2017 Referred to Committee on Housing and Real Estate

January 03, 2018 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(9)	Representative Jagler; Representatives Allen,
		Katsma, R. Brooks, Murphy, Pronschinske,
		Stuck, Young and Goyke.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Rep. Rob Brooks
- Travis Haines CWAA
- Melissa Klimek WI Apartment Assoc.
- Amy Bliss EWI Housing Alliance
- Matt Finnegan Beloit Property Managers Assoc.
- Dale Hicks JARPA
- Jim Bestul JARPA
- Jeff Pralle WI Apt. Assoc.
- John Sullivan Winnebago County Apt. Assoc.
- Jeff Wicinsky Winnebago Apt. Assoc.
- Donn Lord Winnebago Apt. Assoc.
- Matt Mikkelson
- Prisha Gustina Beloit Property Manager Assoc.
- Leon Foxew Sr. Beloit Property Manager Assoc.
- Margaret Watson
- Chris Mokler WI Rental Assoc.
- Heiner Giese APT Assoc. SE WI

- Joe Murray WI Realtors Assoc.
- Bob Welch Apt. Assoc. South Central WI.

Appearances Against

- Bob Wipperfurth President-Village of Windsor
- Curt Witynski League of WI Municipalities
- Kim Montgomery City of Millwaukee
- Vanessa Koster City of Milwaukee
- John Decker WI Council for Local History
- Doug Hoffer City of Eau Claire
- Kenneth Mandz Village of Turtle Lake
- Vicky Selicowe Legal Action of WI
- Vanessa Kuettel Legal Action of WI
- Lori Palmeri CIty of Oshkosh
- Mark Rohloff City of Oshkosh
- Steve Cummings City of Oshkosh
- Kurt Stege Madison Trust for Historic Preservation
- Fred Mohs
- Frances Ingebritson
- Dawn McCarthey Milwaukee Preservation Alliance.

Appearances for Information Only

• KT Gallaghe - Eua Claire City-County Health Dept.

Registrations For

- TIm Roehl
- Dave Habermon JARPA, WAA
- Rep Michael Schraa
- Jesse Stott
- Amanda Davidson
- Fred Raise
- Daman Hesse
- Ann Rouse
- Dawn Swinger
- Joanna Rouse Rouse Management Co.
- Paul Winans WI APT Assoc
- Scott Watson
- Trevor Scott
- Megan Jensen
- Cynthia Whedon
- Steven Best
- Alyssa Hellenbrand-Best
- Erika Sweeny
- Kari Ramgnette

- Jim Sweeny
 - Meggan Allen
- Jaclyn Syerven
- Jessica G

•

- Tom McKenna
- Niki Mataczynski
- Dan Seeley
- Samantha Freitag
- Shane Fry
- Mitch Colster
- Shannon Sloot
- Ashley Maier
- Andrew Wesner
- Chris Ferrall
- Cassadra Taylor
- Nancy Jensen
- Patrick Adams
- Judy Hoffmiller
- Alex Field
- Brende Hofer
- Karen Johnson Galluna Management Inc. AASCW
- Linda Fischer AASCW and Gallina MGT.
- Michelle Jolly Clarmar APTS and AASCW
- Jaclyn Gullick APT. Assoc and Gallina Management
- Dawn Hendricksen Apt. Assoc. and Gallina Mgt
- David Baker Beloit Property Mngs
- Paul Schulz Beliot Property Manager Assoc
- Wayne Gustina Beloit Property Managers Assoc.
- Wayne Gustina Beloit Property Managers Assoc.
- Hannah Grove Fox Valley Apartment Assoc
- Joe Hansen Beloit BPMA
- Terrence Hall T Wall Enterprises
- John Sullivan Winnebago Apt Assoc

Registrations Against

- Genie Ogden
- Jacob Mass City of Watertown
- Nicholas Zavos City of Madison
- Matt Goodman
- Forbes McIntosh Dane County Cities and Villiages Assoc.
- Lori Gensch Milwaukee Preservation Alliance
- Dan Carpenter WI Health Assoc.

Registrations for Information Only

• Kate Easton - WHS

January 17, 2018 Executive Session Held

Present:	(9)	Representative Jagler; Representatives Allen,
		Katsma, R. Brooks, Murphy, Pronschinske,
		Stuck, Young and Goyke.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Stuck, seconded by Representative Goyke that **Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (3) Representatives Stuck, Young and Goyke.
- Noes: (6) Representative Jagler; Representatives Allen, Katsma, R. Brooks, Murphy and Pronschinske.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 6

Moved by Representative Goyke, seconded by Representative Young that **Assembly Amendment 3 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (3) Representatives Stuck, Young and Goyke.
- Noes: (6) Representative Jagler; Representatives Allen, Katsma, R. Brooks, Murphy and Pronschinske.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 3 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 6

Moved by Representative Goyke, seconded by Representative Stuck that **Assembly Amendment 4 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (3) Representatives Stuck, Young and Goyke.
- Noes: (6) Representative Jagler; Representatives Allen, Katsma, R. Brooks, Murphy and Pronschinske.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 4 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 6

Moved by Representative Brooks, seconded by Representative Pronschinske that **Assembly Amendment 2 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes:(9)Representative Jagler; Representatives
Allen, Katsma, R. Brooks, Murphy,
Pronschinske, Stuck, Young and Goyke.
- Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Brooks that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

> Ayes: (9) Representative Jagler; Representatives Allen, Katsma, R. Brooks, Murphy, Pronschinske, Stuck, Young and Goyke.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Brooks that **Assembly Bill 771** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (6) Representative Jagler; Representatives Allen, Katsma, R. Brooks, Murphy and Pronschinske.
- Noes: (3) Representatives Stuck, Young and Goyke.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Charlie Bellin Committee Clerk