Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health

Assembly Bill 681

Relating to: prohibiting the sale of dextromethorphan without a prescription to persons under 18 and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Kremer, Nygren, Skowronski, Berceau, Subeck, Kuglitsch, Genrich, Spiros, Kolste, Mursau, Fields, Tusler, Ballweg, Novak, Bernier, Ripp and Crowley; cosponsored by Senators Stroebel, Cowles, Olsen, Johnson, Bewley and Petrowski.

November 29, 2017 Referred to Committee on Health

December 13, 2017 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(10)	Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives
		Bernier, Edming, Skowronski, Kremer,
		Wichgers, Murphy, Jacque, Kolste and C.
		Taylor.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Zamarripa and Subeck.

Appearances For

- State Rep. Jesse Kremer 59th Assembly District
- Kirsten Johnson Washington Ozaukee Public Health
- Dennis Majeskie Johnson and Johnson
- Carlos Gutierrez Consumer Healthcare Products Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Lane Ruhland Office of the Wisconsin Attorney General
- State Sen. Duey Stroebel 20th District
- Jodi Bloch Children's Hospital of WI
- Mark Grapentine WI Medical Society
- Sandie Benen Glaxo Smith Kline
- Dan Carpenter WI Public Health Association

- Dan Carpenter WI Association of Local Health Departments and Boards
- Caty McDermott Badger State Sheriffs' Association
- Caty McDermott Wisconsin Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs Association
- Alice O'Connor WI Chiefs of Police Association

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

December 20, 2017 Executive Session Held

Present:	(12)	Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives
		Bernier, Edming, Skowronski, Kremer,
		Wichgers, Murphy, Jacque, Kolste, Zamarripa,
		Subeck and C. Taylor.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Wichgers, seconded by Representative Jacque that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (12) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Bernier, Edming, Skowronski, Kremer, Wichgers, Murphy, Jacque, Kolste, Zamarripa, Subeck and C. Taylor.
- Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Wichgers, seconded by Representative Kolste that **Assembly Bill 681** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (12) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Bernier, Edming, Skowronski, Kremer, Wichgers, Murphy, Jacque, Kolste, Zamarripa, Subeck and C. Taylor.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Joshua Hoisington Committee Clerk