# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Health**

## January 2017 Special Session Assembly Bill 8

Relating to: creating additional opioid treatment programs and making an appropriation.

By committee on Assembly Organization, Representatives Nygren, E. Brooks, Bernier, Krug, Novak, Quinn, VanderMeer, Jagler, Rodriguez, Born, Loudenbeck, Brostoff, Murphy, Ballweg, Felzkowski, Skowronski, Steffen, Ripp, Swearingen, Kleefisch, Petryk, Mursau, Tittl, Rohrkaste, Ohnstad, C. Taylor, Zepnick, Sinicki, Edming, Doyle, Petersen, Tusler, Kolste, Tranel, Vruwink, Fields, Kulp, Sargent, Wachs, Spreitzer and Zamarripa; cosponsored by Senators Harsdorf, Vukmir, Darling, Feyen, Marklein, Wanggaard, Olsen, Carpenter and Wirch., by request of Governor Scott Walker

February 17, 2017 Referred to Committee on Health

March 08, 2017 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (11) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives

Bernier, Edming, Skowronski, Kremer,

Wichgers, Murphy, Jacque, Kolste, Zamarripa

and C. Taylor.

Absent: (1) Representative Subeck.

Excused: (0) None.

#### Appearances For

- State Rep. John Nygren 89th Assembly District
- Jennifer Malcore WI Dept. of Health Services
- Linda McCart WI Dept. of Health Services
- Bernestine Jeffers WI Dept. of Health Services
- Bill Keeton Aids Resource Center of WI
- Peter Brunzelle SALS Recovery
- Wendy Borner Care for Dodge County, Inc.
- Skye Tikkanen Safe Communities Madison and Dane County
- Flo Hilliard UW Division of Continuing Studies,
   Director WI Voices for Recovery

### Appearances Against

• None.

### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

## Registrations For

- WI Department of Justice
- State Senator Sheila Harsdorf 10th Senate District
- State Rep. Josh Zepnick 9th District
- Lisa Davidson WI Primary Health Care Assoc.
- Mark Grapentine WI Medical Society
- Eric Jensen WI Psychiatric Assoc.
- Eric Jensen WI Ch. of American College of Emergency Physicians
- Jeremy Levin Rural WI Health Cooperative
- Kathleen O'Brien
- Rebecca Warwick
- Chris Nyland

## **Registrations Against**

• None.

## **Registrations for Information Only**

None.

#### March 15, 2017 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (11) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives
Bernier, Edming, Kremer, Wichgers, Murphy,
Jacque, Kolste, Zamarripa, Subeck and C.
Taylor.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Skowronski.

Moved by Representative Edming, seconded by Representative Murphy that **January 2017 Special Session Assembly Bill 8** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (11) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives
Bernier, Edming, Kremer, Wichgers,
Murphy, Jacque, Kolste, Zamarripa, Subeck
and C. Taylor.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Joshua Hoisington
Committee Clerk