Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health

January 2017 Special Session Assembly Bill 7

Relating to: grants to establish and expand graduate training in an addiction specialty and making an appropriation.

By committee on Assembly Organization, Representatives Nygren, VanderMeer, Tranel, Quinn, Novak, Ripp, Petryk, E. Brooks, Bernier, Spiros, Murphy, Ballweg, Felzkowski, Steffen, Skowronski, Swearingen, Kleefisch, Mursau, Kulp, Subeck, Vruwink, Fields, Sargent, Genrich, Tittl, Rohrkaste, Ohnstad, Billings, Zepnick, Sinicki, Doyle, Krug, Petersen, Tusler, Kolste, Jagler, Rodriguez, Born, Hutton and Wachs; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Darling, Harsdorf, Vukmir, Olsen, Wanggaard, Testin, Cowles, Carpenter, L. Taylor and Lasee., by request of Governor Scott Walker

February 17, 2017 Referred to Committee on Health

March 08, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (11) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives
Bernier, Edming, Skowronski, Kremer,
Wichgers, Murphy, Jacque, Kolste, Zamarripa
and C. Taylor.

Absent: (1) Representative Subeck.

Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- State Rep. John Nygren 89th Assembly District
- Jennifer Malcore WI Dept. of Health Services
- Linda McCart WI Dept. of Health Services
- Bernestine Jeffers WI Dept. of Health Services
- Bill Keeton Aids Resource Center of WI
- Dr. Jon Lehrmann Medical College of WI
- Dr. Robert Hurley Medical College of WI
- Dean Robert Golden UW Health and UW School of Medicine and Public Health
- Skye Tikkanen Safe Communities Madison and Dane County

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- WI Department of Justice
- State Senator Howard Marklein 17th District
- State Rep. Josh Zepnick 9th District
- Nathan Berken Medical College of WI
- Lisa Davidson WI Primary Health Care Assoc.
- Mark Grapentine WI Medical Society
- Eric Jensen WI Psychiatric Assoc.
- Eric Jensen WI Ch. of American College of Emergency Physicians
- Randy Schubring Mayo Clinic Health System
- Connie Schulze UW Health and UW School of Medicine and Public Health
- Jeremy Levin Rural WI Health Cooperative
- Kathleen O'Brien
- Rebecca Warwick

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 15, 2017 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (11) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives
Bernier, Edming, Kremer, Wichgers, Murphy,
Jacque, Kolste, Zamarripa, Subeck and C.
Taylor.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Skowronski.

Moved by Representative Kolste, seconded by Representative Bernier that **January 2017 Special Session Assembly Bill 7** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (11) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Bernier, Edming, Kremer, Wichgers, Murphy, Jacque, Kolste, Zamarripa, Subeck and C. Taylor.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Joshua Hoisington Committee Clerk