Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Government Accountability and Oversight

Assembly Bill 923

Relating to: increasing the authority of a county executive from a populous county and other counties and reducing the authority of a county board, budgeting procedures for populous counties, certain other counties, and cities, villages, and towns, and the method for establishing the compensation of county supervisors and county elective officers.

By Representatives Kooyenga and Fields; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard and L. Taylor.

February 08, 2018	Referred to Committee on Government Accountability and
Oversight	

February 14, 2018 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(9)	Representative Hutton; Representatives
		Brandtjen, Krug, Wichgers, Kuglitsch, August,
		Pope, Brostoff and Riemer.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Representative Dale Kooyenga 14th Assembly District
- County Executive Chris Abele Milwaukee County Executive
- Steve Baas MMAC
- Eric Peterson Milwaukee County Executive Chris Abele's Office

Appearances Against

- Marcie Rainbolt Wisconsin Counties Association
- Kyle Christianson Wisconsin Counties Association
- Chairman Theo Lipscomb Milwaukee County Board
- Supervisor Luigi Schmitt Milwaukee County Board
- Supervisor Eddie Cullen Milwaukee County Board
- Supervisor Sequanna Taylor Milwaukee County Board
- Supervisor Jason Haas Milwaukee County Board
- Supervisor Supreme Moore Omokunde Milwaukee County Board
- Supervisor David Sartori Milwaukee County Board District 8
- Treasurer David Cullen Milwaukee County

- Comptroller Scott Manske Milwaukee County
- Curt Witynski League of WI Municipalities
- Brenda Wood City of Milwaukee
- Anne Golden League of Women Voters of Milwaukee County
- Caryl Terrell League of Women Voters of WI
- Rick Badger AFSCME Council 32
- Janice Wilberg League of Progressive Seniors
- Karen Royster League of PRogressive Seniors
- Liz Stephens Milwaukee County Board Legislative Liaison
- Thomas Stawicki Amalgamated Transit Union
- Pat Small Milwaukee Lake Park Friends Citizen
- Reverand L. "Spike" Bandy
- Sally Callan

Appearances for Information Only

- Joshua Schoemann Washington County
- Sarah Spaeth Waukesha County Supervisors

Registrations For

- Senator Van Wanggaard 21st Senate District
- County Executive Paul Farrow Waukesha County

Registrations Against

- Caty McDermott Wisconsin Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs Association
- Caty McDermott Badger State Sheriffs Association
- Louise Petering
- Mark Wadium Outgamie Board of Supervisors
- Representative Christine Sinicki 20th Assembly District
- Miakey Beil Dane Count yBoard
- Andrea Kaminske League of Women Voters of WI
- Tyson Fettes Wisconsin Register of Deeds Association
- Supervisor Jeremy Levin Dane County Board District 10

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 22, 2018 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Phillip Pratt Committee Clerk