Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Financial Institutions

Assembly Bill 353

Relating to: the organization and operation of cooperatives and extensions of credit by electric cooperatives.

By Representatives Tauchen, Nerison, E. Brooks, Novak, Considine, Tusler, Kulp, Bernier, Quinn, Petryk, Meyers, Ripp, Tranel, Ballweg, Krug, Edming, Summerfield, Vruwink, Doyle, Kolste, VanderMeer, Mursau, Pronschinske and Goyke; cosponsored by Senators Testin, Cowles, Bewley, Moulton, Harsdorf, Ringhand, Marklein and Vinehout.

May 31, 2017 Referred to Committee on Financial Institutions

September 27, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Katsma; Representatives

Jarchow, Allen, Stafsholt, Petryk, Weatherston, Murphy, Petersen, Kitchens, Doyle, Young,

Zepnick, Bowen and Meyers.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Sanfelippo and Fields.

Appearances For

- Representative Gary Tauchen 6th Assembly District
- Michael Lensmire Clifton Larson Allen CPAs
- Daniel Diederich Diederich Farm/Cooperative Resources International
- Lori Meinholz Blue Star Dairy
- Larry Dokkestal Pierce-Pepin Cooperative Services
- Beata Wierzba Wisconsin Electric Cooperative Association
- Tim Clay Wisconsin Electric Cooperative Association
- Bob Topel
- David Ward Cooperative Network
- John Manske Cooperative Network
- Scott Herrick

Appearances Against

- Les Danielson
- Chris Holman Portage County Farmers Union
- Kirsten Jurcek WI Farmers Union Southeast Chapter
- Oren Jakobson Stevens Point Area Cooperative

- Pascal D'Hayvetter WI Farmers Union
- Darin Von Ruden WI Farmers Union
- Sarah Lloyd Columbia County Farmers Union
- Rebecca Kemble Union Cab/International Cooperative Alliance
- Andrew Borchardt WI Farmers Union
- Brel Hutton-Okpalaeke Friends Cooperative
- W. Michael Slattery
- Laura Daniels
- Kara O'Connor Wisconsin Farmers Union

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Senator Patrick Testin 24th Senate District
- Representative Ed Brooks 50th Assembly District
- Kristen Faucon Growmark
- Michelle Kussow WI Propane Gas Association
- Nathan Franklin Dairyland Power Cooperative

Registrations Against

- Maya Pierick
- Michelle Miller
- Rena Newman FH King/Students for Sustainable Agriculture
- Icelle Anderson Phoenix Co-op
- Hildy Feen
- Samuel Kirschbaum
- Gillian Wyman
- Jessica Bernstein
- John Peck Family Farm Defenders
- Kristina Femal
- Hinor Chen
- Robin Larson
- Thomas Enright
- Kate Bellile
- Charles Uphoff

Registrations for Information Only

• Lynn Pitman - UW Center for Cooperatives

November 01, 2017 Executive Session Held

Present: (14) Representative Katsma; Representatives Allen, Stafsholt, Petryk, Weatherston, Murphy, Petersen, Kitchens, Doyle, Young, Zepnick, Bowen, Meyers and Fields.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Jarchow and Sanfelippo.

Moved by Representative Petersen, seconded by Representative Weatherston that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representative Katsma; Representatives
Allen, Stafsholt, Petryk, Weatherston,
Murphy, Petersen, Kitchens, Doyle, Young,
Zepnick, Bowen, Meyers and Fields.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Zepnick that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representative Katsma; Representatives Allen, Stafsholt, Petryk, Weatherston, Murphy, Petersen, Kitchens, Doyle, Young, Zepnick, Bowen, Meyers and Fields.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Zepnick that **Assembly Bill 353** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (12) Representative Katsma; Representatives Allen, Petryk, Weatherston, Murphy, Petersen, Kitchens, Doyle, Young, Zepnick, Meyers and Fields.

Noes: (2) Representatives Stafsholt and Bowen.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 2

Nick Krueger Committee Clerk