Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Federalism and Interstate Relations

Assembly Bill 165

Relating to: appointing delegates for a convention under Article V of the United States Constitution.

By Representatives Bernier, Knodl, E. Brooks, Duchow, Edming, Horlacher, Hutton, Jarchow, Kremer, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kulp, Mursau, Neylon, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Schraa, Spiros, Steffen, Thiesfeldt and R. Brooks; cosponsored by Senators Kapenga, Craig, Lasee and Stroebel.

March 20, 2017	Referred to	o Comm	nittee on Federalism and Interstate Relations	
March 28, 2017	Public Hearing Held			
	Present:	(7)	Representative Vorpagel: Representatives	

Present:	(7)	Representative Vorpagel; Representatives
		Schraa, Kerkman, Hutton, Katsma, Zepnick
		and Anderson.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Senator Chris Kapenga
- Representative Dan Knodl
- Representative Kathy Bernier
- Bill Smith National Federation of Independent Business
- Gary Banz Former Oklahoma Legislator
- Thomas Llewellyn Balanced Budget Amendment Task Force
- David Guldenschuh Heartland Institute
- Timothy Dake Wisconsin Grandsons of Liberty

Appearances Against

- Matt Rothschild Wisconsin Democracy Campaign
- Larry Greenley The John Birch Society
- Rosalie Greenley
- David Lewis
- Christian Gomez
- Elliot Stokes
- Max Blaska
- Ben Martinez
- Tom German
- Matthew Trewhella Mercy Seat Church

- Sandra Ruggles Eagle Forum & PS Eagles
- Stephanie Ash ACLU of Wisconsin
- Dr. Consuelo Lopez Springfield League of Women Voters of Wisconsin
- Rabbi Bonnie Margulis WI Faith Voices for Justice
- Trudi Witmsley
- Carlene Bechen
- Richard Bechen
- Chris Nyland
- Brian Higgins
- Karen Gunderson
- Rita Mae Reese
- Jesse Pycha-Holst
- Jon Peacock WI Council on Children and Families
- Mark Fuller
- Gabriel Clemente
- Will Gruber
- Scot Ross One Wisconsin Now
- Leonard Kaplan
- Martha Kaplan

Appearances for Information Only

• Daniel Barry

Registrations For

- Senator Steve Nass
- Jason Culotta Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce

Registrations Against

- Senator Dave hansen
- Representative Sondy Pope
- Representative Dana Wachs
- Representative Chris Taylor
- Representative Tod Ohnstad
- Crystel Anders
- Raymond Kirk Anderson Wisconsin Faith Voices for Justice
- Mary Anglim
- Kim Bean
- John Bell
- Laura Berger
- Gail Bliss
- Susanne Breckenridge
- Anna Cannella

• Ray Hansen

•

- Dan Cornwell
- Martha Cranley
- Sally Drew
- Cheri Dubiel
- Karen Edson
- Cassandra Frankel
- Carla Galler
- Tony Gibart End Domestic Abuse Wisconsin
- D Glodoski
- Peter Goldberg
- Peter Gottlieb
- Laura Gottlieb
- Jill Groblewski
- Victoria Gutierrez
- Barbara Hill
- John Huebscher
- Mitchell Hussbaum
- Lisa Jacobson
- Peter Johnson
- Joanne Kaster
- Sarah Kaplan
- Robert Liska
- Amy Maurer
- Scott Maine
- Tom Mcclintock
- Jake Miller
- Suzanne Miller
- Kathie Nichols
- Chris Nyland
- Genie Ogden
- Rich Rjecking
- Juscha Robinson
- Daniel Ruggles PS Eagles
- Whitney S
- Heike Saynisch
- Carrie Scherpelz
- Marilyn Schneider John birch Society
- Vin Schneider John Birch Society
- Jane Sedusky
- Elizabeth Severson
- Peter Sobol
- Jay Solwold
- Dianne Steinbach

- Darlyne Steinhweg
- Clara Trewhella
- James Unrath
- Ted Vothdr
- Sandra Ward
- Gary Witlack
- Jeanne Wright
- Nadine Wright

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

May 31, 2017 **Executive Session Held**

Present:	(7)	Representative Vorpagel; Representatives	
		Schraa, Kerkman, Hutton, Katsma, Zepnick	
		and Anderson.	
Absent:	(0)	None.	
Excused:	(0)	None.	

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Schraa that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes:(5)Representative Vorpagel; RepresentativesSchraa, Kerkman, Hutton and Katsma.
- Noes: (2) Representatives Zepnick and Anderson.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 2

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Katsma that **Assembly Bill 165** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (5) Representative Vorpagel; Representatives Schraa, Kerkman, Hutton and Katsma.
- Noes: (2) Representatives Zepnick and Anderson.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 2

Ariana Beno Committee Clerk