## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Family Law**

### **Assembly Bill 786**

Relating to: the Court Appointed Special Advocates grant program and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Katsma, Meyers, Rodriguez, Crowley, Novak, Subeck, Pronschinske, Doyle, Kitchens, Billings, Ballweg, Snyder, Anderson, Berceau, Born, E. Brooks, Considine, Fields, Genrich, Jacque, Jagler, Kolste, Krug, Kulp, Loudenbeck, Mursau, Petersen, Petryk, Quinn, Ripp, Rohrkaste, Sargent, Shankland, Sinicki, Spreitzer, Steineke, Summerfield, Swearingen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, VanderMeer, Vruwink and Allen; cosponsored by Senators Olsen, Johnson, Carpenter, Larson, Ringhand, L. Taylor and Vinehout.

December 27, 2017 Referred to Committee on Family Law

## January 30, 2018 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (8) Representative Rodriguez; Representatives Duchow, Thiesfeldt, Tauchen, Kleefisch, Goyke, Subeck and Billings.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Krug.

## Appearances For

- Representative Terry Katsma 26th Assembly District
- Senator Luther Olsen 14th Senate District
- Sandy Johnson CASA of Rock County
- Susan Schwartz Wisconsin CASA
- Michael Rosborough CASA
- Scott Shackelford Sheboygan County Health and Human Services

#### Appearances Against

None.

## **Appearances for Information Only**

None.

#### Registrations For

- Linda Hall Wisconsin Association of Family & Children's Agencies
- NASW WI Chapter National Association of Social Workers - WI Chapter

- Representative Beth Meyers 74th Assembly District
- Wilma Lamont AARP

## Registrations Against

None.

## Registrations for Information Only

None.

## February 01, 2018 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (7) Representative Rodriguez; Representatives Duchow, Thiesfeldt, Tauchen, Krug, Goyke and Subeck.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Kleefisch and Billings.

Moved by Representative Duchow, seconded by Representative Goyke that **Assembly Bill 786** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (7) Representative Rodriguez; Representatives Duchow, Thiesfeldt, Tauchen, Krug, Goyke and Subeck.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Nick Bentz Committee Clerk