Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Environment and Forestry

Assembly Bill 941

Relating to: iron or steel slag managed as an item of value.

By Representatives Tittl, Mursau, Knodl, Kulp, Loudenbeck, Murphy and Tusler; cosponsored by Senators Stroebel, Cowles and Olsen.

February 09, 2018 Referred to Committee on Environment and Forestry

February 19, 2018 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (7) Representative Mursau; Representatives Krug, Wichgers, Tusler, Hebl, Anderson and Neubauer.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (5) Representatives Pronschinske, Kitchens, Swearingen, Edming and Milroy.

Appearances For

- Paul Tittl State Representative 25th Assembly District
- Brian Sikma On behalf of Sen. Duey Strobel
- Rob Thompson Charter Steel
- Lucas Vebber WMC
- Bryant Esch Waupaca Foundry

Appearances Against

- Amber Meyer-Smith Clean WI
- Paul Matthewson Clean WI

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jordan Lamb Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries, Wisconsin Chapter
- Todd Start Wisconsin Industry Energy Group
- Rob Cowles 2nd Senate District
- Duey Strobel 20th Senate District

Registrations Against

• Bill Davis - Siera Club

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 20, 2018 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (12) Representative Mursau; Representatives Krug,

Pronschinske, Kitchens, Swearingen, Edming, Wichgers, Tusler, Hebl, Milroy, Anderson and

Neubauer.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Krug, seconded by Representative Wichgers that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (11) Representative Mursau; Representatives
Krug, Pronschinske, Kitchens, Swearingen,

Edming, Wichgers, Tusler, Hebl, Milroy and

Neubauer.

Noes: (1) Representative Anderson.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Tusler, seconded by Representative Edming that **Assembly Bill 941** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (8) Representative Mursau; Representatives Krug, Pronschinske, Kitchens, Swearingen,

Edming, Wichgers and Tusler.

Noes: (4) Representatives Hebl, Milroy, Anderson and

Neubauer.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

Cory Bruce
Committee Clerk