Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

March 2018 Special Session Assembly Bill 2

Relating to: creating an office of school safety in the Department of Justice and making appropriations.

By committee on Assembly Organization, Representative Spiros, by request of Governor Scott Walker.

March 16, 2018 Referred to Committee on Education

March 20, 2018 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (15) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives

Kitchens, Jagler, Rodriguez, Tusler, Mursau, Quinn, Duchow, Wichgers, Pope, Genrich,

Considine, Hebl, Bowen and Vruwink.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Zimmerman.

Appearances For

- John Spiros State Representative
- Ellen Nowak Secretary of Dept. of Administration
- Cate Zeuske Deputy Secretary of DOA
- Sharon Schmeling WI Council of Religious and Independent Schools
- Shawn Rolland Wauwatosa School Board
- Ted Neitzke CESA 6 President
- Dan Rossmiller WASB
- Tony Barthuly Attorney General
- Glenn Rehberg Dept of Justice
- Dennis Fortunato DOJ
- Brad Schimel Attorney General
- Ratuel Gomez
- Rafael Gomez

Appearances Against

- Carla Pennington-Cross
- Christine Paulea PDC Area schools board of Ed. President

Appearances for Information Only

Rick Waski - School District of Monroe

Heather DuBois Bourenaire

Registrations For

- Cynthia Drury
- Mark Patoll Badger State Sheriff's Assn., Wis Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs Assn
- Alice O'Connor Wi Chiefs of Police

Registrations Against

- Scot Ross One WI Now
- Tom Poppe
- Joanne Juhnke Wisconsin Family Ties
- Gina Lima
- Peggy Wilzeman
- Joyce Pohl WAVE

Registrations for Information Only

- John Cioci
- Derek Hoesly
- Maureen Freberg
- Martina Rippon Gray Panthers

March 29, 2018 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Hariah Hutkowski Committee Clerk