Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 383

Relating to: parental choice programs, the Special Needs Scholarship Program, granting rule-making authority, and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Kitchens, Fields, Ballweg, Bernier, Felzkowski, Gannon, Horlacher, Jagler, Kleefisch, Murphy, Mursau, Novak, Ripp, Rohrkaste, Thiesfeldt, Young and Zepnick; cosponsored by Senators Olsen, L. Taylor, Darling, Stroebel, Wanggaard and Vukmir.

June 08, 2017 Referred to Committee on Education

June 13, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (15) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives
Kitchens, Jagler, Rodriguez, Tusler, Mursau,
Quinn, Duchow, Wichgers, Pope, Genrich,
Considine, Hebl, Bowen and Vruwink.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Zimmerman.

Appearances For

- Kim Wadas Wisconsin Catholic Conference
- Paul Scriver Shoreland Lutheran HS
- Chris Cody South WI district Luther church missouri Synod Schools
- David Eaton Columbus Catholic Schools
- Henry Tyson St. Marcus
- Allison Wagner Seton Catholic Schools
- Jamie Luehring Kettle Moraine Lutheran HS WELS
- Adam Schmidt Seton Catholic Schools
- Jim Bender School Choice WI
- Jeff Pertl DPI
- Tricia Collins DPI
- Joel Kitchens Representative

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Josh Zepnick Representative
- Steve Baas MMAC
- Duey Stroebel State Senator
- Nathan Lewis Lutheran Special Schools and **Educational Services**
- Mary Czech-Mrochinski Marquette University
- Justin Moralez American Federation for Children
- Sharon Schmeling WI Council of Religious and **Independent Schools**
- Carol Shires School Choice WI
- Scott Jensen American Federation for Children
- Eric Bott Americans for Properity WI
- Laura Sumner-coon SOAR Racine

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

June 14, 2017 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13)Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Jagler, Rodriguez, Tusler, Mursau, Quinn, Wichgers, Pope, Genrich, Considine, Hebl and Vruwink.

Absent: None. (0)

Excused: Representatives Zimmerman, Duchow and (3)

Bowen.

Moved by Representative Jagler, seconded by Representative Quinn that **Assembly Bill 383** be recommended for passage.

> Ayes: (11) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Jagler, Rodriguez, Tusler, Mursau, Quinn, Duchow, Wichgers, Considine and Vruwink.

Noes: (4) Representatives Pope, Genrich, Hebl and Bowen.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 4

Hariah Hutkowski Committee Clerk