## **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Education**

## **Assembly Bill 95**

Relating to: authorizing a school board member to refuse his or her salary. By Representatives Novak, E. Brooks, R. Brooks, Edming, Felzkowski, Gannon, Horlacher, Kitchens, Knodl, Ripp, Skowronski, Spiros, Tittl, Tusler, Vruwink, Weatherston, Kleefisch and Thiesfeldt; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Nass and Olsen.

February 24, 2017	Referred to Committee on Education			
April 20, 2017	Public Hearing Held			
	Present: (1		Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Jagler, Zimmerman, Rodriguez, Tusler, Duchow, Wichgers, Pope, Genrich, Considine, Hebl, Bowen and Vruwink.	
	Absent: (0		None.	
	Excused: (2	2)	Representatives Mursau and Quinn.	
	<ul> <li><u>Appearances For</u></li> <li>Todd Novak - State Representative</li> <li>Don Vruwink - State Representative</li> <li>Dan Rossmiller - WASB</li> <li>John Forester - School Administrators Alliance</li> </ul>			
	Appearances . • Non	-	<u>st</u>	
	Appearances • Non		formation Only	
	<ul> <li><u>Registrations For</u></li> <li>Howard Marklein - State Senator</li> </ul>			
	<ul> <li><u>Registrations Against</u></li> <li>None.</li> </ul>			
	Registrations • Non		formation Only	
April 26, 2017	Executive Sea	ession	Held	

Present:	(14)	Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives	
		Kitchens, Jagler, Tusler, Mursau, Quinn,	
		Duchow, Wichgers, Pope, Genrich, Considine,	
		Hebl, Bowen and Vruwink.	
Absent:	(0)	None.	
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Zimmerman and Rodriguez.	

Moved by Representative Jagler, seconded by Representative Kitchens that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:(14)Representative Thiesfeldt; RepresentativesKitchens, Jagler, Tusler, Mursau, Quinn,<br/>Duchow, Wichgers, Pope, Genrich,<br/>Considine, Hebl, Bowen and Vruwink.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Quinn, seconded by Representative Wichgers that **Assembly Bill 95** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (14) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Jagler, Tusler, Mursau, Quinn, Duchow, Wichgers, Pope, Genrich, Considine, Hebl, Bowen and Vruwink.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Hariah Hutkowski Committee Clerk