Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 506

Relating to: the responsibilities of the Law Enforcement Standards Board. By Representatives Ott, Ballweg, Tusler, Jacque, Murphy and Spiros; cosponsored by Senators Testin, Olsen, Darling and Wanggaard.

September 20, 2017 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

November 16, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Representative Spiros; Representatives Kremer, Ott, Jacque, Horlacher, Novak, Krug, Goyke and Kessler.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Bernier, Zamarripa and Crowley.

Appearances For

- Representative Jim Ott
- Tony Bartholy Wisconsin Department of Justice
- Sheriff David Mahoney Dane County Sheriff's Department
- Chief Christopher Domagalski Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association, Law Enforcement Standards Board
- Sheriff Terry Dryden Wisconsin Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs Association, Badger State Sheriffs Association
- Mary Czech-Mrochinski Marquette University
- Paul Mascari Marquette University

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Senator Patrick Testin
- Dana Vike Wisconsin Department of Justice
- Alice O'Connor Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

November 30, 2017 Executive Session Held

Present: (11) Representative Spiros; Representatives Kremer, Ott, Jacque, Horlacher, Novak, Bernier, Goyke,

Kessler, Zamarripa and Crowley.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Krug.

Moved by Representative Kremer, seconded by Representative Horlacher that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (11) Representative Spiros; Representatives Kremer, Ott, Jacque, Horlacher, Novak, Bernier, Goyke, Kessler, Zamarripa and Crowley.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Goyke, seconded by Representative Jacque that **Assembly Bill 506** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (11) Representative Spiros; Representatives Kremer, Ott, Jacque, Horlacher, Novak, Bernier, Goyke, Kessler, Zamarripa and Crowley.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Erin Clark
Committee Clerk