Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 414

Relating to: underage sexual activity and providing a criminal penalty.

By Representatives Kleefisch, Kessler, Duchow, Felzkowski, Ballweg, Berceau, Bernier, Born, Bowen, Brandtjen, Brostoff, Crowley, Edming, Goyke, Hebl, Hintz, Horlacher, Hutton, Jagler, Jarchow, Knodl, Kooyenga, Krug, Kuglitsch, Milroy, Neylon, Novak, Ohnstad, Petersen, Pope, Quinn, Sinicki, Snyder, Swearingen, Tauchen, Tittl, Tranel, Vorpagel, Weatherston and Zepnick; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard, L. Taylor, Johnson, Harsdorf and Petrowski.

June 29, 2017 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

October 05, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present:	(11)	Representative Spiros; Representatives Kremer,
		Ott, Jacque, Horlacher, Novak, Bernier, Krug,
		Goyke, Kessler and Crowley.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Zamarripa.

Appearances For

- Representative Joel Kleefisch
- Representative Fred Kessler
- Mary Prosser University of Wisconsin Law School
- Adam Plotkin State Public Defenders
- Cindy Komorowski
- Matthew Parmley
- Sara Charlier
- Danielle Wiltzier
- Ben Kempinen University of Wisconsin Law School

Appearances Against

• Shelly Rusch - Department of Justice

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Senator Van Wanggaard
- Senator Lena Taylor
- Representative Josh Zepnick
- Danielle Decker City of Milwaukee

- Alice O'Connor Fresh Start Coalition
- Kyly Komorowski

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

October 31, 2017 Executive Session Held

Present:	(12)	Representative Spiros; Representatives Kremer,
		Ott, Jacque, Horlacher, Novak, Bernier, Krug,
		Goyke, Kessler, Zamarripa and Crowley.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Novak, seconded by Representative Bernier that **Assembly Bill 414** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (11) Representative Spiros; Representatives Kremer, Ott, Horlacher, Novak, Bernier, Krug, Goyke, Kessler, Zamarripa and Crowley.
- Noes: (1) Representative Jacque.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 1

Erin Clark Committee Clerk