Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 88

Relating to: crimes subject to a mandatory minimum sentence.

By Representatives Sanfelippo, Kleefisch, Murphy, Duchow, Tusler, Gannon, Edming, Ott, Spiros, Allen, Kremer, Tittl, Skowronski and E. Brooks; cosponsored by Senators Vukmir, Darling, Nass and Feyen.

February 24, 2017	Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety				
April 20, 2017	Public Hearing Held				
	Present:	(12)	Representative Spiros; Representatives Kremer, Ott, Jacque, Horlacher, Novak, Bernier, Krug, Goyke, Kessler, Zamarripa and Crowley.		
	Absent:	(0)	None.		
	Excused:	(0)	None.		
	Appearances For				
	Representative Joe Sanfelippo				
	• Sue Opper - Waukesha County District Attorney				
	• Tina Kurth				
	Glenn Frankovic				
	• \$	Steve Fi	tzsimmons		
	Appearances Against				
	• 1	None.			
	Appearances for Information Only				
	• 1	None.			
	Registrations For				
	Senator Leah Vukmir				
	Registrations Against				
			lotkin - State Public Defenders		
	• \	William	Ward		
	Registrations for Information Only				
	• 1	None.			
May 18, 2017	Executive	Sessio	n Held		

Present:	(10)	Representative Spiros; Representatives Kremer,
		Ott, Jacque, Novak, Bernier, Goyke, Kessler,
		Zamarripa and Crowley.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Horlacher and Krug.

Moved by Representative Goyke, seconded by Representative Zamarripa that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(4)	Representatives Goyke, Kessler, Zamarripa
		and Crowley.

Noes: (6) Representative Spiros; Representatives Kremer, Ott, Jacque, Novak and Bernier.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 6

Moved by Representative Jacque, seconded by Representative Kremer that **Assembly Bill 88** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (6) Representative Spiros; Representatives Kremer, Ott, Jacque, Novak and Bernier.
- Noes: (4) Representatives Goyke, Kessler, Zamarripa and Crowley.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 4

Erin Mellon Committee Clerk