Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

January 2017 Special Session Assembly Bill 10

Relating to: position authorization for criminal investigation agents at the Department of Justice.

By committee on Assembly Organization, Representatives Nygren, Bernier, Krug, VanderMeer, Tranel, Novak, Ripp, E. Brooks, Edming, Skowronski, Loudenbeck, Murphy, Ballweg, Fields, Felzkowski, Steffen, Swearingen, Kleefisch, Petryk, Brostoff, Vruwink, Mursau, Rohrkaste, Tusler, Billings, Doyle, Zepnick, Petersen, Kolste, Jagler, Born, Subeck, Kulp, Spiros, Sargent, Wachs and Jacque; cosponsored by Senators Harsdorf, Vukmir, Darling, Olsen, Feyen, Testin, Wanggaard, Wirch and L. Taylor., by request of Governor Scott Walker

February 17, 2017	Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety		
March 02, 2017	Public Hearing Held		
	Present:	(11)	Representative Spiros; Representatives Ott, Jacque, Horlacher, Novak, Bernier, Krug, Goyke, Kessler, Zamarripa and Crowley.
	Absent:	(0)	None.

Excused: (1) Representative Kremer.

Appearances For

- Representative John Nygren •
- Government Affairs Director Lane Ruhland Department • of Justice

- ASAC Robert Bell US Drug Enforcement • Administration
- Acting Administrator Jason Smith DOJ: Division of • Criminal Investigation
- Chief Christopher Domagalski Sheboygan Police • Department, Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Justice Programs Supervisor Matthew Raymer -• Department of Justice
- Director James Bohn Wisconsin HIDTA •

Appearances Against

None. •

Appearances for Information Only

None. •

Registrations For

- Assistant Deputy Secretary Jennifer Malcore -Department of Health Services
- Representative Jill Billings
- Representative Ed Brooks
- Joe Strohl Menominee Tribe
- Alice O'Connor Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Senator Sheila Harsdorf

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 09, 2017 Executive Session Held

Present:	(12)	Representative Spiros; Representatives Kremer,
		Ott, Jacque, Horlacher, Novak, Bernier, Krug,
		Goyke, Kessler, Zamarripa and Crowley.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Jacque, seconded by Representative Goyke that **January 2017 Special Session Assembly Bill 10** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (9) Representative Spiros; Representatives Ott, Jacque, Horlacher, Novak, Bernier, Krug, Goyke and Zamarripa.
- Noes: (3) Representatives Kremer, Kessler and Crowley.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 3

Erin Mellon Committee Clerk