# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Corrections**

#### **Assembly Bill 953**

Relating to: juvenile correctional facilities, youth aids, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, granting rule-making authority, and making an appropriation.

By committee on Corrections.

February 15, 2018 Referred to Committee on Corrections

February 15, 2018 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (9) Representative Schraa; Representatives Hutton,

Brandtjen, E. Brooks, Kleefisch, Bowen, Pope,

Goyke and Considine.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Kremer.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Michael Schraa 53rd Assembly District
- Rep. Evan Goyke 18th Assembly District
- Sen. Lena Taylor 4th Senate District
- Rep. Joel Kleefisch 38th Assembly District
- Rep. David Bowen 10th Assembly District
- Kelli Thompson State Public Defender
- Adam Plotkin Office of State Public Defender
- Gil Halstaed
- Ken Streit

# **Appearances Against**

None.

## Appearances for Information Only

- Jenny Malcore DHS
- Lonna Moronney DCF
- Randy Keys DCF
- Don Friske DOC
- Shelby McCulley DOC
- Kyle Christianson Wisconsin Counties Association
- Sarah Diedrick-Kasdorf Wisconsin Counties Association

- Ray Prizbellski Wisconsin Counties Human Services Associaiton
- Dr. Bill Topel Winnebago County Cept of Human Services
- David Steinberg LaCrosse County
- Ed Kamin Racine County
- Dan Chiappetta Racine County
- Amy Hart Racine County
- Ben Wehmeier Jefferson County Administrator
- Amy Devine Disability Rights Wisconsin

## **Registrations For**

None.

## Registrations Against

• None.

#### **Registrations for Information Only**

Andrea Kaminski

## February 15, 2018 Executive Session Held

Present: (9) Representative Schraa; Representatives Hutton, Brandtjen, E. Brooks, Kleefisch, Bowen, Pope, Goyke and Considine.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Kremer.

Moved by Representative Kleefisch, seconded by Representative Brandtjen that **Assembly Bill 953** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (8) Representative Schraa; Representatives Brandtjen, E. Brooks, Kleefisch, Bowen, Pope, Goyke and Considine.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Linda Palmer Committee Clerk