Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Corrections

Assembly Bill 539

Relating to: plans for supervised release of sexually violent persons, representation of sexually violent persons by the state public defender, and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Krug, Kulp, Petersen, Kleefisch, Mursau, Swearingen, Edming, VanderMeer, Skowronski and Nygren; cosponsored by Senators Testin, L. Taylor, Feyen, Marklein and Tiffany.

October 16, 2017 Referred to Committee on Corrections

November 28, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Representative Schraa; Representatives Hutton, Brandtjen, E. Brooks, Kleefisch, Bowen, Pope, Goyke and Considine.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Kremer.

Appearances For

- Representative Scott Krug 72nd Assembly District
- Senator Patrick Testin 5th Senate District
- Representative Jeff Mursau 36th Assembly District
- Sheriff Mike Lukas Portage County
- Adam Plotkin State Public Defender's Office
- Bob Peterson State Public Defender's Office
- District Atty Kevin Croninger Monroe County

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Gary Miller - Eldorado Town Chair

Registrations For

- Danielle Decker City of Milwaukee
- Curt Witynski League of Wisconsin Municipalities

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

 Sarah Diedrick-Kasdorf - Wisconsin Counties Association

January 09, 2018 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (10) Representative Schraa; Representatives Hutton,

Brandtjen, E. Brooks, Kremer, Kleefisch, Bowen, Pope, Goyke and Considine.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Kleefisch, seconded by Representative Goyke that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (10) Representative Schraa; Representatives Hutton, Brandtjen, E. Brooks, Kremer, Kleefisch, Bowen, Pope, Goyke and Considine.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Kremer, seconded by Representative Goyke that **Assembly Bill 539** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (10) Representative Schraa; Representatives Hutton, Brandtjen, E. Brooks, Kremer, Kleefisch, Bowen, Pope, Goyke and Considine.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Linda Palmer Committee Clerk