Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Colleges and Universities

Assembly Bill 805

Relating to: excluding certain college credit in high school programs from the Early College Credit Program.

By Representatives Kooyenga, Hutton, Rohrkaste, Stuck, Allen, Anderson, Ballweg, Fields, Jacque, Murphy, Mursau, Novak, Ohnstad, Ott, Shankland, Sinicki, Stafsholt, C. Taylor, Tusler, Vorpagel, Macco, Horlacher and Spiros; cosponsored by Senators Vukmir, Darling, Miller, Hansen, LeMahieu, Marklein, Moulton, Vinehout, Feyen and Wirch.

December 28, 2017 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

January 18, 2018 Public Hearing Held

| Present: | (14) | Representative Murphy; Representatives |
|----------|------|-----------------------------------------------|
| | | Tranel, Quinn, Summerfield, Petryk, Ballweg, |
| | | Krug, Kremer, Berceau, Wachs, Billings, Hebl, |
| | | Vruwink and Anderson. |
| Absent: | (1) | Representative Stafsholt. |
| Excused: | (0) | None. |

Appearances For

- Rep. Dale Kooyenga author
- President Ray Cross UW System
- Director Denise Hancock Parkside Access to College Credit Program
- Dr. Rolf Wegenke Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
- Craig Charron Fox Valley Lutheran High School
- Alan Nolte Fox Valley Lutheran High School
- Meagan Strehlow UW Green Bay
- Emmalee Wilson UW Green Bay
- John Dobyns UW Oshkosh
- Tim Schell Waunakee Community Schools
- Hannah Joslin Fond du Lac High School
- Danielle Joslin Fond du Lac High School
- Michael Sereno School District of Elmbrook

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Laura Schmidt - School District of New Berlin

Registrations For

- Sen. Leah Vukmir
- Rep. Rob Hutton 13th Assembly District
- John Forester School Administrators Alliance

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 01, 2018 Executive Session Held

| Present: | (13) | Representative Murphy; Representatives |
|----------|------|------------------------------------------------|
| | | Tranel, Zimmerman, Quinn, Summerfield, |
| | | Petryk, Ballweg, Krug, Kremer, Berceau, Hebl, |
| | | Vruwink and Anderson. |
| Absent: | (0) | None. |
| Excused: | (3) | Representatives Stafsholt, Wachs and Billings. |

Moved by Representative Ballweg, seconded by Representative Tranel that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (13) Representative Murphy; Representatives Tranel, Zimmerman, Quinn, Summerfield, Petryk, Ballweg, Krug, Kremer, Berceau, Hebl, Vruwink and Anderson.
- Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Berceau, seconded by Representative Vruwink that **Assembly Bill 805** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (13) Representative Murphy; Representatives Tranel, Zimmerman, Quinn, Summerfield, Petryk, Ballweg, Krug, Kremer, Berceau, Hebl, Vruwink and Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Diane Handrick Committee Clerk