Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Colleges and Universities

Assembly Bill 540

Relating to: driver education instruction on human trafficking.

By Representatives Kleefisch, Billings, Bernier, Spiros, Jacque, Ripp, Murphy, Tittl, Fields, Crowley, Anderson, Berceau, Genrich, Kessler, Kolste, Mason, Sargent, Shankland, Spreitzer, C. Taylor, Tusler and Brostoff; cosponsored by Senators Johnson, Harsdorf, Olsen, Wanggaard, Darling, L. Taylor, Carpenter, Larson and Vinehout.

October 16, 2017 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

October 24, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Murphy; Representatives

Tranel, Zimmerman, Quinn, Petryk, Ballweg, Krug, Stafsholt, Kremer, Berceau, Billings,

Vruwink and Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Summerfield, Wachs and Hebl.

Appearances For

- Rep. Joel Kleefisch author
- Sen. LaTonya Johnson
- Deb Martin
- Pam Henkel
- Beth Lauck Kids Matter, Inc.
- Julie Braun Department of Justice
- James Massey Jr
- Shirley Paulson Women of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of America
- Jodi Emerson Fierce Freedom
- Angela Pfotenhauer
- Cindy Crave Lutheran Office for Public Policy in WI
- Marc Bentley Wisconsin Motor Carriers

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

Valerie Santana

- Mark Sericati Schneider National
- Adrienne Roach End Domestic Abuse WI
- Mary Rathert Slave Free Madison, Sinsinawa Dominicans Against Human Trafficking
- Layla Merrifield WI Technical College District Boards Association
- John Bauknecht UMOS

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

November 01, 2017 Executive Session Held

Present: (16) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Tranel, Zimmerman, Quinn, Summerfield,
Petryk, Ballweg, Krug, Stafsholt, Kremer,
Berceau, Wachs, Billings, Hebl, Vruwink and
Anderson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Hebl, seconded by Representative Summerfield that **Assembly Bill 540** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (16) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Tranel, Zimmerman, Quinn, Summerfield,
Petryk, Ballweg, Krug, Stafsholt, Kremer,
Berceau, Wachs, Billings, Hebl, Vruwink
and Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Diane Handrick Committee Clerk