Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Children and Families

Assembly Bill 787

Relating to: funding for grants to support foster parents and foster children and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Subeck, Snyder, Billings, Ballweg, Doyle, Novak, Meyers, Katsma, Pronschinske, Rodriguez, Kitchens, Anderson, Barca, Berceau, Born, E. Brooks, Brostoff, Felzkowski, Fields, Genrich, Kolste, Krug, Kulp, Mursau, Ohnstad, Petersen, Petryk, Ripp, Rohrkaste, Sargent, Shankland, Sinicki, Spreitzer, Steineke, Summerfield, Swearingen, C. Taylor, Tittl, Tranel, VanderMeer, Vruwink, Zamarripa and Zepnick; cosponsored by Senators Olsen, Johnson, Larson, L. Taylor and Vinehout.

December 27, 2017 Referred to Committee on Children and Families

January 17, 2018 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (11) Representative Kitchens; Representatives

Snyder, Vorpagel, Kerkman, Ballweg, Pronschinske, Krug, C. Taylor, Billings,

Subeck and Bowen.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Rep. Lisa Subeck 78th Assembly District
- Sen. Luther Olsen 14th Senate District
- Sarah Mumaw-Flury
- Lila Barlow
- William Robbins
- Deb Suchle Trempealeau County Human Services
- Oriana Carey Coalition for Children, Youth & Families
- Kathy Markeland WAFCA
- Lonna Morouney DCF
- Fredi Bove DCF
- Mickey Beil Dane County

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Sarah Diedrick-Kesdorf Wisconsin Counties Assn.
- Katie Herreu WI County Human Service Assn.
- Maxine Jacobs
- Chuck Price Waupaca County
- Jason Witt La Crosse County

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 31, 2018 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (10) Representative Kitchens; Representatives

Snyder, Vorpagel, Kerkman, Ballweg, Pronschinske, Krug, C. Taylor, Subeck and

Bowen.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Billings.

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Vorpagel that **Assembly Bill 787** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (10) Representative Kitchens; Representatives Snyder, Vorpagel, Kerkman, Ballweg, Pronschinske, Krug, C. Taylor, Subeck and

Bowen.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Stamena Ivanov

Committee Clerk