# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Children and Families**

### **Assembly Bill 779**

Relating to: grant to organization to provide referrals to community-based services and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Crowley, Rodriguez, Billings, Katsma, Subeck, Kitchens, Doyle, Ballweg, Meyers, Novak, Snyder, Pronschinske, Barca, Jagler, Krug, Kulp, Petryk, Ripp, Rohrkaste, Sargent, Shankland, Sinicki, Steineke, Summerfield, Swearingen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, VanderMeer, Vruwink, Zamarripa and Stuck; cosponsored by Senators Olsen, Johnson, Larson, Ringhand, L. Taylor and Vinehout.

December 27, 2017 Referred to Committee on Children and Families

# January 17, 2018 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (11) Representative Kitchens; Representatives

Snyder, Vorpagel, Kerkman, Ballweg, Pronschinske, Krug, C. Taylor, Billings,

Subeck and Bowen.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. David Crowley 17th Assembly District
- Rep. Jessie Rodriguez 21st Assembly District
- Sen. Luther Olsen 14th Senate District
- John Hyatt Impact 2-1-1
- Charlene Mouille United Way
- Rick Spiel United Way of Dane County
- Sarah Mumaw-Flury
- Jeff Sargent United Way of Marathon County
- William Robbins
- Kim Knutson Great Rivers 211 & Gundersen Health System
- David Lee Feeding Wisconsin
- Kathy Mullooly 211 Waukesha County

# Appearances Against

None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

None.

# **Registrations For**

- Oriana Carey Coalition for Children, Youth and Families
- Sarah Diedrick-Kesdorf Wisconsin Counties Assn.
- Rachel Gundacker United Way of Dane County
- Katie Herreu WI County Human Service Assn.
- Maxine Jacobs
- Michelle Jensen Child Abuse & Neglect Prevention Board
- Kathy Markeland WAFCA
- Kyle O'Brien WI Hospital Assn.
- Karen Olson La Crosse County
- Chuck Price Waupaca County
- Earl Robert Waite
- Jason Witt La Crosse County

### Registrations Against

None.

### **Registrations for Information Only**

None.

# January 31, 2018 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (10) Representative Kitchens; Representatives Snyder, Vorpagel, Kerkman, Ballweg, Pronschinske, Krug, C. Taylor, Subeck and Bowen.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Billings.

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Vorpagel that **Assembly Bill 779** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (10) Representative Kitchens; Representatives Snyder, Vorpagel, Kerkman, Ballweg, Pronschinske, Krug, C. Taylor, Subeck and Bowen.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Stamena Ivanov Committee Clerk