# Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Children and Families**

#### Senate Bill 35

Relating to: mandatory reporting of child abuse and neglect by juvenile correctional officers.

By Senators Johnson, Wanggaard, Carpenter, Erpenbach, Wirch, C. Larson, Olsen, L. Taylor, Darling and Shilling; cosponsored by Representatives Kleefisch, Spiros, Kolste, Crowley, C. Taylor, Subeck, Considine, Brandtjen, Goyke, Pope, Zepnick, E. Brooks, Mursau, Schraa, Bowen, Kremer, Anderson, Quinn, Novak, Fields, Zamarripa, Billings, Genrich, Sinicki, Skowronski, Spreitzer, Berceau, Tittl and Sargent.

March 08, 2017 Referred to Committee on Children and Families

March 29, 2017 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present:	(11)	Representative Kitchens; Representatives
		Gannon, Snyder, Vorpagel, Kerkman, Ballweg,
		Pronschinske, C. Taylor, Billings, Subeck and
		Bowen.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Krug.

### Appearances For

- Representative Joel Kleefisch Assembly District 38
- Senator LaTonya Johnson Senate District 6
- Joanna Juhnke Wisconsin Family Ties
- Susan Conwell Kids Matter
- Joel Kleefisch Assembly District 38
- Senator LaTonya Johnson Senate District 6
- Susan Conwell Kids Matter

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

### **Registrations For**

- Katie White WI Association of Family and Children Agencies
- Alice O'Connor WI Chiefs of Police Association
- Katie White WI Association of Family and Children Agencies

• Alice O'Connor - WI Chiefs of Police Association

#### **Registrations Against**

• None.

### **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

#### April 12, 2017 Executive Session Held

Present:	(12)	Representative Kitchens; Representatives
		Gannon, Snyder, Vorpagel, Kerkman, Ballweg,
		Pronschinske, Krug, C. Taylor, Billings,
		Subeck and Bowen.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Ballweg, seconded by Representative Kerkman that **Senate Bill 35** be recommended for concurrence.

- Ayes: (12) Representative Kitchens; Representatives Gannon, Snyder, Vorpagel, Kerkman, Ballweg, Pronschinske, Krug, C. Taylor, Billings, Subeck and Bowen.
- Noes: (0) None.

#### CONCURRENCE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Chris Borgerding Committee Clerk