Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Campaigns and Elections

Assembly Bill 153

Relating to: aggrieved parties petitioning for a recount and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Tusler, Thiesfeldt, Allen, Bernier, Brandtjen, E. Brooks, R. Brooks, Edming, Gannon, Horlacher, Katsma, Kerkman, Kremer, Krug, Kulp, Macco, Murphy, Mursau, Ott, Petersen, Quinn, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Schraa, Skowronski, Spiros, Steffen, Tittl and Weatherston; cosponsored by Senators LeMahieu, Craig, Kapenga, Marklein and Stroebel.

March 20, 2017 Referred to Committee on Campaigns and Elections

April 18, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Representative Bernier; Representatives Sanfelippo, Snyder, Horlacher, Schraa, Murphy, Kessler, Zamarripa and C. Taylor.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Rep. Ron Tusler 3rd Assembly District
- Sen. Devin LeMahieu 9th Senate District
- Thomas Grieve Self
- Kathleen Novack Waukesha County Clerk
- Sandy Juno Self
- Jon Dolson Self

Appearances Against

- Matt Rothschild Wis. Democracy Campaign
- Paul Malischke Self
- Robert Dreps Self

Appearances for Information Only

- Michael Haas Wisconsin Elections Commission
- Scott McDonell Self

Registrations For

- Rep. Ed Brooks
- Rep Jeremy Thiesfeldt

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

• Lisa Tollefson - Self

May 09, 2017 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (9) Representative Bernier; Representatives Sanfelippo, Snyder, Horlacher, Schraa,

Murphy, Kessler, Zamarripa and C. Taylor.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Horlacher that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (7) Representative Bernier; Representatives Sanfelippo, Snyder, Horlacher, Schraa, Murphy and Kessler.

Noes: (2) Representatives Zamarripa and C. Taylor.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 2

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Horlacher that **Assembly Bill 153** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (6) Representative Bernier; Representatives Sanfelippo, Snyder, Horlacher, Schraa and Murphy.

Noes: (3) Representatives Kessler, Zamarripa and C. Taylor.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Chad Zuleger
Committee Clerk