Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture

Assembly Bill 698

Relating to: various changes to the Agricultural Producer Security Program, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Ripp, Ballweg, E. Brooks, R. Brooks, Horlacher, Kulp, Krug, Nerison, Tauchen, Tittl, Tusler and VanderMeer; cosponsored by Senators Marklein and Olsen.

November 29, 2017 Referred to Committee on Agriculture

December 12, 2017 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(13)	Representative Nerison; Representatives
		Novak, Tauchen, Ripp, Tranel, E. Brooks,
		Kitchens, VanderMeer, Mursau, Considine,
		Kessler, Spreitzer and Vruwink.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(3)	Representatives Edming, Horlacher and Fields.

Appearances For

- Rep. Keith Ripp 42nd Assembly District
- Dave Daniels
- John Manske Cooperative Network
- Scott Eastwood Insight FS
- Kristen Faucon Growmark
- John Umhoefer Wisconsin Cheese Makers Association
- Evan Hillan
- Greg Tauchen Tauchen Harmony Valley Farms
- Jeremy McPherson DATCP
- Tom Bressner Wisconsin Agri-Business Association
- David Ward Cooperative Network

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Sen. Howard Marklein 17th Senate District
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Business

- Nick George Midwest Food Processors Association
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Association
- Nick Levendofsky Wisconsin Farmers Union
- Bob Welch Wisconsin Corn Growers Association
- Paul Zimmerman Wisconsin Farm Bureau

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 09, 2018 Executive Session Held

Present:(14)Representative Nerison; Representatives
Novak, Tauchen, Tranel, E. Brooks, Kitchens,
VanderMeer, Mursau, Edming, Considine,
Kessler, Spreitzer, Fields and Vruwink.Absent:(0)None.Excused:(1)Representative Horlacher.

Moved by Representative Edming, seconded by Representative Brooks that **Assembly Bill 698** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (14) Representative Nerison; Representatives Novak, Tauchen, Tranel, E. Brooks, Kitchens, VanderMeer, Mursau, Edming, Considine, Kessler, Spreitzer, Fields and Vruwink.
- Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Sandra Smith-Loomans Committee Clerk