## **Senate**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Universities and Technical Colleges**

## Senate Bill 511

Relating to: creating a Distance Learning Authorization Board and making an appropriation.

By Senator Harsdorf; cosponsored by Representative Ballweg.

January 06, 2016 Referred to Committee on Universities and Technical Colleges

January 14, 2016 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (5) Senator Harsdorf; Senators Nass, Gudex,

Hansen and Bewley.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

### Appearances For

- Senator Sheila Harsdorf 10th Senate District
- Bethany Anderson Office of Rep. Joan Ballweg
- Dr. Morna Foy President, Wisconsin Technical College System
- Dr. Rolf Wegenke President, Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
- Dr. Ray Cross President, University of Wisconsin System
- Jenny Parks Midwestern Higher Education Compact
- John Reinemann Higher Education Aids Board
- Matthew Davis Maranatha Baptist University

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

- Jo Oyama-Miller Educational Approval Board
- Jessica Sabin Educational Approval Board

#### **Registrations For**

- Mary Czech-Mrochinski Marquette University
- Layla Merrifield WI Technical College District Boards Association

## Registrations Against

• None.

## Registrations for Information Only

None.

January 14, 2016 **Executive Session Held** 

Present: (5) Senator Harsdorf; Senators Nass, Gudex,

Hansen and Bewley.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

January 19, 2016 **Executive Session Held** 

Present: (5) Senator Harsdorf; Senators Nass, Gudex,

Hansen and Bewley.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Bewley, seconded by Senator Gudex that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Senator Harsdorf; Senators Nass, Gudex,

Hansen and Bewley.

Noes: (0) None.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Bewley, seconded by Senator Gudex that **Senate Bill 511** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (3) Senator Harsdorf; Senators Gudex and

Bewley.

Noes: (2) Senators Nass and Hansen.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Alison Zikmund

Committee Clerk