Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Labor and Government Reform

Senate Bill 49

Relating to: elimination of the requirement that laborers, workers, mechanics, and truck drivers employed on the site of a project of public works be paid the prevailing wage.

By Senators Vukmir, Nass, Wanggaard, Lasee, LeMahieu and Moulton; cosponsored by Representatives Hutton, Sanfelippo, Jacque, Knodl, Kapenga, Craig, Kooyenga, Allen, August, Ballweg, Bernier, Born, Brandtjen, E. Brooks, R. Brooks, Czaja, Gannon, Jagler, Jarchow, Katsma, Kleefisch, Knudson, Kremer, Kuglitsch, Kulp, T. Larson, Neylon, J. Ott, Petersen, Schraa, Skowronski, Swearingen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl and Weatherston.

February 27, 2015	Referred to Committee on Labor and Government Reform Public Hearing Held				
May 05, 2015					
	Present:	(5)	Senator Nass; Senators Wanggaard, Marklein, Wirch and C. Larson.		
	Absent:	(0)	None.		

Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Sen. Leah Vukmir Author
- Rep. Rob Hutton Author
- Dr. Mark Hansen Elmbrook School District
- Erik Kass Elmbrook School District
- Glen Allgaier Elmbrook School District
- John Mielke Associated Builders and Contractors
- Josh Schoemann Washington County
- Kraig Sadownikow Mayor of West Bend
- Dan Thiel J & S Contracting
- Steven Mueller J & S Contracting
- Chris Nelson
- Bill Smith NFIB
- Bob Trussoni Marshfield Public Utility
- Randy Jaeckels New Holstein Public Utility
- John Nyhuis Oakfield School District
- Tim Michalak Washington County and City of Hartford
- Don Zimmer Taxpayers of Manitowoc County
- Mary D'Amour Mukwonago School DIstrict
- Brian Esselman Village of Iron Ridge

- Rep. Adam Jarchow
- Sen. Duey Stroebel
- Rep. Bob Gannon

Appearances Against

- Peter James Peter James Company
- Walter Liegel
- Jeff Parisi Parisi Construction
- James Hoffman Hoffman Construction
- Patrick Brunker Hooper Plumbing
- Peter Philips
- Paul Christiansen H & H Industries
- Tim Peterson Peterson and Sons, Inc.
- Brian Mitchell Choice Construction
- Stephanie Bloomingdale WI State AFL-CIO
- Mark Reihl WI State Council of Carpenters
- Terry McGowan Operating Engineers Local 139
- Anthony Meudt Plumbing Local 75
- Matt Chitwood Dodgeville
- Steve Edlund
- Robert Hudex SEIU WI
- Melissa Emerson-Froebe
- John Hendrick
- Randy Bryce

Appearances for Information Only

• Ben Niehaus - Florence County Schools

Registrations For

- Heather Berlinski Municipal Electric Utilities
- Dave Maxey New Berlin School District
- Dennis Gasper
- Richard Howells Village of Belgium
- Dennis Bednarski Oconomowoc Utility
- Senator Frank Lasee 1st Senate District
- Sulynn Moore Taxpayers of Manitowoc County
- Chris Kulow WI Association of School Boards
- Rep Joel Kleefisch
- Rep Jesse Kremer
- Rep Thomas Weatherston
- Dennis Gasper
- Rep Andre Jacque
- Rep Jeremy Thiesfeldt
- Rep Rob Brooks

- Rep Chris Kapenga
- Rep David Craig
- Sarah Spaeth Waukesha County
- Adam Williquette City of West Bend
- Rep Janel Brandtjen
- Arthur DySong
- Don Rossmiller WI Association of School Boards
- Dan Zimmerman
- Annette Olson Americans for Prosperity
- Kyle Christianson WI Counties Association
- Rep Joe Sanfelippo 15th Assembly District
- David Lawrence WI Rural Water Association

Registrations Against

- Robert Slamka
- John Whitesel
- WIlliam Baureau
- William Carroll Teamsters Joint Council 39
- Scott Mortensen
- Nancy Mortensen
- Susan McMurray AFSCME
- Bob Rayburn NECA
- William Carroll Teamsters Joint Council 39
- Mark Gauf
- Thomas Gasperetti
- James Meicher Laborers 464
- Patrick Goss Wisconsin Tranportation Builders Association
- Mickey Beil Dane County
- Ken Mulryan IUOE Local 139
- Rep Evan Goyke
- Paul Zimmer
- Rep Christine Sinicki
- Rep Andy Jorgensen 43rd Assembly District
- Lauri Rollings Plumbing Mechanical Sheet Metal Contractors' Alliance
- Loyal O'Leary NECA-Wisconsin
- Rep Chris Taylor 76th Assembly District
- Randy Bryce Ironworkers Local 8
- Sen Dave Hanson 30th Senate District
- John Topp Allied Construction Employers Assn
- Sean Cullen JP Cullen & Sons
- Kyle Croft WI Pipe Traders
- Trevor Martin WI Pipe Traders Association

- Steve Lyons WI Contractors Coalition
- Corsy Starr Viroqua
- Mark Linsmen LIUNA
- Spencer Statz
- John Schmitt WI Laborers
- Kent Miller
- Jim Boullion AGC of WI
- Rep Eric Genrich
- Dan Bukiewicz Building & Trades Council
- Craig Ziegler WLTC
- Nicholas Henke
- Dan Sperberg
- Richard Becker Operating Engineers Local 139
- Bernie Samz Wisconsin Laborers Union
- Charity Schmidt
- Renee Bauer Interfaith Coalition for Worker Justice of South Central Wisconsin
- Jamie Carey
- Brian Casper
- Gary Burns Bricklayers Union
- Tim Goetz Operating Engineers
- James Vick Bricklayers Union
- Leonard Shelton Operating Engineers
- Robert Potter
- Daniel Burke
- Dean Hackl
- Pat Landgraf Sheet Metal Workers Local #18
- Steve Breitlow Plumbers Local #75
- Colin Millard Iron Workers District Council of North Central States
- Terry Hayden Wisconsin Pipe Trades Assoc.
- Kenneth Clevenger
- Dave Branson
- Rod Meyer
- Harvey Witie
- Leo Sokolik IBEW State Conference
- Bob Hevle
- Randall Hevle
- Margaret Merdler
- Tim DeMinter
- Aaron Zimmerman NCSRCC
- Scott Watson
- Craig Peachy SMART Transportation Division
- Patrick Healy

- Robert Doyle
- Rep. Dave Considine State Representative
- William Barreau Carpenters Union
- Rep. Fred Kessler State Representative
- Marty Beil
- Richard Gilson Laborers Local 464
- Joe Oswald Wisconsin Laborers' District Council
- Jeff Crocker
- Kathleen Garlock Laborers Local 464
- Rep. Melissa Sargent State Representative
- Ann McNeary Communications Workers of America
- Susan Nossal
- Diane Newby Wisconsin Laborers
- Rep. JoCasta Zamarripa State Representative
- Rep. Dana Wachs State Representative
- Richard Ruecking
- Robert Liska
- Rep. Tod Ohnstad State Representative
- Rep. Deb Kolste State Representative
- Rep. Sondy Pope State Representative
- Kevin Gundlach South Central Federation of Labor
- Genie Ogden
- Rep. LaTonya Johnson State Representative
- Rep. Katrina Shankland State Representative
- Rep. Gary Hebl State Representative
- Robert Bergman
- Rep. David Bowen State Representative
- Peter Rickman
- Scott Hink
- Jeff Loree Laborers Local 464
- Rep. Mark Spreitzer State Representative
- Sue Allen
- Grace Valentine
- John Horn
- Rep. Lisa Subeck 78th Assembly District
- Steve Shew
- Jane Jiumaleh
- Sean Heiser
- Dan Doperalski Wisconsin Building Trades
- Joe Lotegeluaki
- Butch Heller
- Bill Dionne

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

May 07, 2015 Executive Session Held

Present:	(5)	Senator Nass; Senators Wanggaard, Marklein, Wirch and C. Larson.
Absent: Excused:	· /	None.

Moved by Senator Nass, seconded by Senator Wanggaard that **Senate Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(2)	Senator Nass; Senator Wanggaard	1.
J			

Noes: (3) Senators Marklein, Wirch and C. Larson.

SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 2, Noes 3

Moved by Senator Wanggaard, seconded by Senator Nass that **Senate Bill 49** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (2) Senator Nass; Senator Wanggaard.
- Noes: (3) Senators Marklein, Wirch and C. Larson.

PASSAGE NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 2, Noes 3

Mike Mikalsen Committee Clerk