Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Veterans and Military Affairs

Assembly Bill 541

Relating to: a veterans employment and entrepreneurship grant program, veteran employment grants, granting rule-making authority, and making an appropriation.

By Representatives VanderMeer, Allen, Ballweg, Bernier, Brostoff, Edming, T. Larson, Macco, Milroy, Murphy, A. Ott, Petryk and Skowronski; cosponsored by Senators Petrowski, Carpenter, Darling, Harsdorf, LeMahieu, Marklein, Moulton, Olsen, Ringhand, L. Taylor and Vinehout.

November 24, 2015 Referred to Committee on Veterans and Military Affairs

December 10, 2015 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Skowronski; Representatives VanderMeer, Weatherston, Petryk, Allen, Edming, Nerison, Heaton, J. Ott, Tittl, Hesselbein, Milroy and Goyke.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Sinicki and Riemer.

Appearances For

- Daniel Buttery Wisconsin Department of Veterans
- Christopher Yesbeck RW Baird & Co,
- Chad Lee RW Baird & Co.
- Neil Lerner UW Madison SBDC
- Representative Nancy Vander Meer 70th Assembly District
- Michael Ertmer Bunker Labs Wisconsin

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jason Johns Military Order of Purple Heart Department of Wisconsin
- Mike "Gunner" Furgal VFW Wisconsin
- Senator Jerry Petrowski 29th Senate District
- Jim Hodge RW Baird & Co.
- Bruce Markeit Veterans Task Force

- Rock Larson CVSO Association of Wisconsin
- Mike "Gunner" Furgal VFW Wisconsin
- Joseph Hins VFW Post 1318
- Jason Johns Purple Heart Dept. of WI

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

January 21, 2016 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Skowronski; Representatives VanderMeer, Petryk, Allen, Edming, Nerison, Heaton, J. Ott, Tittl, Hesselbein, Milroy, Sinicki, Goyke and Riemer.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Weatherston.

Moved by Representative Edming, seconded by Representative VanderMeer that **Assembly Bill 541** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representative Skowronski; Representatives VanderMeer, Petryk, Allen, Edming, Nerison, Heaton, J. Ott, Tittl, Hesselbein, Milroy, Sinicki, Goyke and Riemer.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Justin Phillips
Committee Clerk