Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Urban and Local Affairs

Assembly Bill 522

Relating to: reimbursement of counties for probationers, parolees, and persons on extended supervision who are placed with the county pending disposition of revocation proceedings.

By Representatives Steffen, Bernier, Born, E. Brooks, R. Brooks, Considine, Czaja, Edming, Genrich, Jacque, Krug, Macco, Novak, A. Ott, Petryk, Swearingen, Thiesfeldt and Murphy; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Gudex, Moulton, Olsen, Ringhand, Vinehout and Wirch.

November 13, 2015 Referred to Committee on Urban and Local Affairs

February 03, 2016 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (8) Representative E. Brooks; Representatives

Hutton, Novak, Quinn, Steffen, Skowronski,

Genrich and Young.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Subeck.

Appearances For

- Rep. David Steffen Assembly District 4
- Dale Schmidt Dodge County Sheriff
- Joe Brettingen Badger State Sheriff's Association & Eau Claire County Sheriff's Office
- John Gossage Badger State Sheriff's Association
- Kim Gaffney Wisconsin Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs Association & Marquette County Sheriff
- Mike Blaska Wisconsin Counties Association

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Rep. Dave Considine
- Ron Cramer Badger State Sheriff's Association & Eau Claire County Sheriff
- Steve Delarwelle Badger State Sheriff's Association & Door County Sheriff

- Nate Dreckman Grant County Sheriff
- Tim Elve Badger State Sheriff's Association
- Joe Fath Vilas County Sheriff's Office
- Reg Gill Lafayette County Sheriff
- Grady Hartman Oneida County Sheriff
- Mike Kowalski Wisconsin Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs Association
- Sen. Howard Marklein
- David Mahoney Badger State Sheriff's Association & Dane County Sheriff
- Caty McDermott Wisconsin Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs Association
- Steven Michek Badger State Sheriff's Association & Iowa County Sheriff
- Kurt Picknell Badger State Sheriff's Association & Walworth County Sheriff
- Nick Skrepenski Badger State Sheriff's Association & Dane County Sheriff's Department
- Sarah Spaeth Waukesha County
- Troy Streckenbach Brown County Executive
- Mark Wadium Outagamie County Board of Supervisors
- Bill Weiss Vilas County Sheriff's Office

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 03, 2016 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (9) Representative E. Brooks; Representatives Hutton, Novak, Quinn, Steffen, Skowronski, Genrich, Young and Subeck.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Steffen, seconded by Representative Young that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representative E. Brooks; Representatives Hutton, Novak, Quinn, Steffen, Skowronski, Genrich, Young and Subeck.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Young, seconded by Representative Steffen that **Assembly Bill 522** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (9) Representative E. Brooks; Representatives Hutton, Novak, Quinn, Steffen, Skowronski, Genrich, Young and Subeck.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

John Flynn Committee Clerk