# Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Tourism**

#### **Assembly Bill 512**

Relating to: designating and marking a specified highway route in the counties of Kenosha, Racine, Milwaukee, Waukesha, Jefferson, Dane, Iowa, Sauk, and Richland as the Frank Lloyd Wright Trail and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Novak, Mason, Tranel, Barnes, Berceau, Bowen, E. Brooks, Considine, Genrich, Hintz, Horlacher, Kahl, Kessler, Kitchens, Kolste, Kooyenga, Meyers, Murphy, Petryk, Riemer, Ripp, Rohrkaste, Sinicki, Subeck, C. Taylor, VanderMeer, Wachs, Weatherston and Zepnick; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Carpenter, Lasee, Miller, Olsen, Risser, L. Taylor, Wanggaard and Wirch.

November 13, 2015 Referred to Committee on Tourism

# January 13, 2016 **Public Hearing Held**

Present:	(14)	Representative Tranel; Representatives
		Jarchow, Mursau, Tauchen, Kleefisch,
		Kitchens, Born, A. Ott, Swearingen, Billings,
		Doyle, Ohnstad, Mason and Meyers.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Ballweg.

# Appearances For

- Todd Novak State Representative District 51
- Howard Marklein State Senator 17th Senate District
- Corry Mason State Representative 66th District
- Mary Ann McKenna Wyoming Valley School
- Judy Shirman Richland Center Alderperson
- Mike Lilek frank Lolyd wright WI Burnham Block
- Carrie Rodamaker Taliesin Preservation
- Heather Sabin Monona Terrace
- Melinda D Jones City of Richland Center
- Dave Cieslewichz WI Bike Federation

# Appearances Against

• None.

# Appearances for Information Only

- Nate Yahn WI DOT
- Matt Rauch Wisconsin DOT

#### **Registrations For**

- Sherri L Shokler Frank Loyd Wright WI
- Lois Berg Presdient Wright in Wisconsin
- George Hall VP Frank Lloyd Wright in Wisconsin
- John Mckenna Self Wright Believer
- Bill Martinelli Seth Peterson Cottage Conservancy
- Sarah Milestone Taliesin Preservation
- Heather Berlinski S.C. Johnson
- Lon Arbegust German Warehouse
- Mike Ditmer Schwartz House

#### **Registrations Against**

• None.

#### **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

#### January 27, 2016 Executive Session Held

Present:	(14)	Representative Tranel; Representatives
		Jarchow, Mursau, Tauchen, Kitchens, Born, A.
		Ott, Swearingen, Ballweg, Billings, Doyle,
		Ohnstad, Mason and Meyers.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Kleefisch.

Moved by Representative Ott, seconded by Representative Ballweg that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes:(14)Representative Tranel; RepresentativesJarchow, Mursau, Tauchen, Kitchens, Born,<br/>A. Ott, Swearingen, Ballweg, Billings,<br/>Doyle, Ohnstad, Mason and Meyers.
- Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Mason, seconded by Representative Ballweg that **Assembly Bill 512** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (14) Representative Tranel; Representatives Jarchow, Mursau, Tauchen, Kitchens, Born, A. Ott, Swearingen, Ballweg, Billings, Doyle, Ohnstad, Mason and Meyers.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Jeff Curry Committee Clerk