# Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on State Affairs and Government Operations**

#### Assembly Bill 77

Relating to: certification cards to carry concealed weapons for residents of Wisconsin who formerly were employed as law enforcement officers in another state and successor law enforcement agencies to assume responsibility of issuing certification cards to carry concealed weapons to former officers.

By Representatives Kleefisch, Milroy, Born, Edming, Gannon, Horlacher, Jarchow, Knodl, Murphy, Mursau, Murtha, Novak, J. Ott, Sinicki and Steffen; cosponsored by Senators Bewley, Gudex and Wanggaard.

March 05, 2015 Operations

Referred to Committee on State Affairs and Government

#### April 15, 2015 **Public Hearing Held**

Representative Swearingen; Representatives Present: (15)

> Craig, Jagler, Brandtjen, Kleefisch, Gannon, Ripp, Kulp, Tauchen, Vorpagel, Zamarripa,

Sinicki, Kahl, Ohnstad and Brostoff.

Absent: (0)None. Excused: (0)None.

#### Appearances For

- Representative Joel Kleefisch 38th Assembly District
- Donald Schellin Wisconsin Fraternal Order of Police
- Senator Van Wanggaard 21st Senate District

### Appearances Against

None.

### Appearances for Information Only

None.

#### Registrations For

- Alice O'Conner Wisconsin Chief of Police Association
- Caty McDermott Wisconsin Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs Association
- Representative Nick Milroy 73rd Assembly District

#### Registrations Against

None.

### **Registrations for Information Only**

None.

### April 28, 2015 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Craig, Jagler, Brandtjen, Kleefisch, Gannon,

Ripp, Kulp, Tauchen, Vorpagel, Zamarripa,

Sinicki, Kahl, Ohnstad and Brostoff.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Brandtjen, seconded by Representative Vorpagel that **Assembly Bill 77** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Craig, Jagler, Brandtjen, Kleefisch, Gannon,

Ripp, Kulp, Tauchen, Vorpagel, Sinicki,

Kahl, Ohnstad and Brostoff.

Noes: (1) Representative Zamarripa.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 1

Dan Perchinsky Committee Clerk