Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on State Affairs and Government Operations

Assembly Bill 143

Relating to: regulation of transportation network companies, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, granting rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives August, Mason, Petersen, Zamarripa, Brandtjen, Brostoff, Czaja, Doyle, Edming, Genrich, Jagler, Kleefisch, Knudson, Kuglitsch, Kulp, Macco, Nygren, Riemer, Rohrkaste, Spiros, Steffen, Tauchen, Tranel, Vorpagel, Wachs, Swearingen, Ripp, Danou, Schraa, Weatherston, Bowen, Barnes, Craig and Thiesfeldt; cosponsored by Senators Farrow, Lassa, Lasee, Gudex, Marklein, Nass, Vukmir and Wanggaard.

March 31, 2015 Operations Referred to Committee on State Affairs and Government

April 02, 2015 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (10) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Craig, Jagler, Brandtjen, Gannon, Tauchen,

Vorpagel, Zamarripa, Ohnstad and Brostoff.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (5) Representatives Kleefisch, Ripp, Kulp, Sinicki

and Kahl.

Appearances For

- Representative Tyler August 32nd Assembly District
- Representative Cory Mason 66th Assembly District
- Robert Kellman Uber
- Monica Groves American Family Insurance
- Andy Franken Wisconsin Insurance Alliance
- Joe Meeker
- Chris Stombaugh WI Association for Justice
- Virginia Uber
- Jim Cozzy Uber
- Reid Scott
- Andrew Davis MMAC
- Gillean Kitchen Greater Madison Chamber of Commerce
- Michael Ertmeur Techstars Patriot Boot Camp
- Imran Khan Uber
- Ryan Olson

- Jon Oakley
- Adam Dries Uber WI General Manager

Appearances Against

- Representative Lisa Subeck 78th Assembly District
- Adam Chern
- Phil Anderson Green Cab / Libertarian Party of Dane County
- Justin LaPlante Ridesafe Madison Network
- Steve Blaskowski
- Scott Herrick Union Cab of Madison
- Margaret Ruesch
- Christina Ballard Cab Drivers for Madison Safety
- Jason Glomp Union Cab of Madison
- Tom Melms Badger Cab
- Paul Bittorf Union Cab / WCTC / WATO
- Frank Mattingly
- Kevin Nurani Union Cab
- David Rossing
- Karl Schulte Wisconsin Association of Taxicab Owners
- Patricia Hammel
- Erik Brekke Madison Taxi

Appearances for Information Only

- Brad Livingston Dane County
- Eric Peterson Milwaukee County Executive Chris Abele
- Travis Theisen Martin Schreiber and Associates
- Ron Kuehn Professional Insurance Agents of Wisconsin

Registrations For

- Jordan Wheeloch
- Natalie Badjce Uber
- Jillana Peterson
- Anna Everson
- Youssef Amraoui
- Ousiti Walaso
- Chon Vang Uber
- Tory Trenzelwe Sentry Insurance
- Mallory Warner Uber
- Theresa Elliott Sentry Insurance
- Devra Ayala
- Nick Grojean State Farm
- Tom Fonfarm Consumer Rights Wisconsin
- Pete Christianson American Insurance Association

- Tom Still Wisconsin Technology Council
- Scott Stenger
- Annette Olson
- Deez Mohamoud 2424 Chale Gardens #12
- Bashi Aer
- Ken Dewey

Registrations Against

- Mayor Paul Fisk City of Lodi
- Representative Chris Taylor 76th Assembly District
- Mike Rogowski League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Genie Ogden
- Gary Goyke WATO
- Gary Goyke WURTA
- Joan Kemble

Registrations for Information Only

• Mike Bachhuber - Survival Coalition

April 08, 2015 Executive Session Held

Present: (13) Representative Swearingen; Representatives
Craig, Jagler, Brandtjen, Gannon, Ripp, Kulp,
Vorpagel, Zamarripa, Sinicki, Kahl, Ohnstad
and Brostoff.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Kleefisch and Tauchen.

Moved by Representative Brandtjen, seconded by Representative Zamarripa that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (13) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Craig, Jagler, Brandtjen, Gannon, Ripp, Kulp, Tauchen, Zamarripa, Sinicki, Kahl, Ohnstad and Brostoff.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (2) Representatives Kleefisch and Vorpagel.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Zamarripa, seconded by Representative Ohnstad that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Representatives Zamarripa, Sinicki, Kahl, Ohnstad and Brostoff.

Noes: (8) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Craig, Jagler, Brandtjen, Gannon, Ripp, Kulp and Vorpagel.

Absent: (2) Representatives Kleefisch and Tauchen.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 8

Moved by Representative Zamarripa, seconded by Representative Brostoff that **Assembly Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Representatives Zamarripa, Sinicki, Kahl, Ohnstad and Brostoff.

Noes: (8) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Craig, Jagler, Brandtjen, Gannon, Ripp, Kulp and Vorpagel.

Absent: (2) Representatives Kleefisch and Tauchen.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 8

Moved by Representative Zamarripa, seconded by Representative Ohnstad that **Assembly Amendment 4** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Representatives Zamarripa, Sinicki, Kahl, Ohnstad and Brostoff.

Noes: (8) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Craig, Jagler, Brandtjen, Gannon, Ripp, Kulp and Vorpagel.

Absent: (2) Representatives Kleefisch and Tauchen.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 4 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 8

Moved by Representative Vorpagel, seconded by Representative Zamarripa that **Assembly Bill 143** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (11) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Craig, Jagler, Brandtjen, Gannon, Ripp,

Kulp, Vorpagel, Zamarripa, Sinicki and Brostoff.

Noes: (2) Representatives Kahl and Ohnstad.

Absent: (2) Representatives Kleefisch and Tauchen.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 2

Dan Perchinsky Committee Clerk