Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on State Affairs and Government Operations

Assembly Bill 18

Relating to: taste samples of intoxicating liquor provided on certain retail licensed premises.

By Representatives Kleefisch, Zamarripa, Allen, August, Brandtjen, Ballweg, Brostoff, Considine, Danou, Goyke, Kahl, Kitchens, Kooyenga, Kremer, Krug, Kuglitsch, Meyers, Milroy, Ohnstad, Sinicki, Spiros, Steffen, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Hesselbein and Young; cosponsored by Senators Moulton, L. Taylor, Erpenbach, Gudex and Vinehout.

January 29, 2015 Operations Referred to Committee on State Affairs and Government

February 04, 2015 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Swearingen; Representatives

Craig, Jagler, Brandtjen, Gannon, Ripp, Kulp, Tauchen, Vorpagel, Zamarripa, Sinicki, Kahl,

Ohnstad and Brostoff.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Kleefisch.

Appearances For

- JoCasta Zamarripa Wisconsin State Legislature
- Guy Rehorst Great Lakes Distillery
- Adam Casey Star Liquor
- Christine Bright Bright Promotions
- George Klaetsch DISCUS
- Charles and Millissa McGonegal AEppleltreowWinery and Distillery
- Julie Coquard Wollersheim Winery
- Nathan Greenwalt Old Sugar Distillery
- Rob Pohlman Door County Distillery
- Matthew Rick Infinity Beverage Artisan Winery and Distillery
- Brandon Scholz
- Brian Cummins Great Northern Distilling
- Nick Quint Yahara Bay Distillers
- Evan Hughes Central Standard Craft Distillery
- Peggy Handricks Hendricks Family Distillery
- Scott Stenger Tavern League of Wisconsin

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Julia Sherman - Wisconsin Alcohol Policy Project

Registrations For

- Joel Kleefisch Wisconsin State Assembly
- Peter Nomm Northwoods Distillery
- Ed Lump WRA
- Eric Petersen Wisconsin Wine and Spirit Institute
- Gary Olsen Minhas Distillery
- Po Lo Lo Artisan Distillery
- Curt Naegeli Northwoods Distillery

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 10, 2015 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Craig, Jagler, Brandtjen, Kleefisch, Gannon, Ripp, Kulp, Tauchen, Vorpagel, Zamarripa, Sinicki, Kahl, Ohnstad and Brostoff.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Zamarripa, seconded by Representative Tauchen that **Assembly Bill 18** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (15) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Craig, Jagler, Brandtjen, Kleefisch, Gannon, Ripp, Kulp, Tauchen, Vorpagel, Zamarripa, Sinicki, Kahl, Ohnstad and Brostoff.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Dan Perchinsky
Committee Clerk