Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Mining and Rural Development

Assembly Bill 793

Relating to: the teacher loan program.

By Representatives Quinn, E. Brooks, Tranel, Ballweg, Bernier, Czaja, Edming, Kitchens, Krug, Kulp, T. Larson, Mursau, Murtha, Nerison, Novak, Petryk, Ripp, Spiros, Swearingen, Tauchen, VanderMeer, Kremer, Jarchow, Macco, A. Ott, Skowronski and Vorpagel; cosponsored by Senators Darling and Tiffany.

January 22, 2016 Referred to Committee on Mining and Rural Development

February 04, 2016 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Kulp; Representatives Mursau, Novak, Quinn, VanderMeer, E. Brooks, T.

 $Larson,\,Kremer,\,Milroy,\,Danou,\,Billings,$

Considine and Spreitzer.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Bernier and Krug.

Appearances For

- Representative Romaine Quinn 75th Assembly District
- Representative Romaine Quinn 75th Assembly District

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

 John Reinemann - Wisconsin Higher Education Aids Board

Registrations For

- Representative Kathy Bernier 68th Assembly District
- Kara O'Connor Wisconsin Farmers Union
- Kim Kaukl Wisconsin Rural Schools Alliance
- Chris Kulow Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- Representative Ed Brooks 50th Assembly District
- John Forester School Administrators Alliance
- Senator Alberta Darling 8th Senate District
- Representative Travis Tranel 49th Assembly District

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 10, 2016 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Kulp; Representatives Mursau,

Bernier, Novak, Quinn, VanderMeer, E. Brooks, Krug, T. Larson, Kremer, Milroy, Danou, Billings, Considine and Spreitzer.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Mursau, seconded by Representative Bernier that **Assembly Bill 793** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (12) Representative Kulp; Representatives Mursau, Bernier, Novak, Quinn, VanderMeer, E. Brooks, Krug, T. Larson,

Kremer, Considine and Spreitzer.

Noes: (3) Representatives Milroy, Danou and Billings.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 3

James Emerson Committee Clerk